Skip to content

What the Monopoly Guy Eats When He’s in a Hurry

November 1, 2011
tags:

I had a pretty busy weekend!

This year, I decided to continue my room mate and I’s idea to poke fun at the turn-anything-into-something-sexy route a lot of girls go…

… and dressed as Sexy Monopoly Guy.

On Friday, my friend Zulay had a birthday party, and the theme was the 30s, 40s and 50s. I decided Sexy Monopoly Guy fit well enough into that category.

The mustache was the funniest part of the costume, but it unfortunately forced me to drink everything through a straw– even red wine. But whatever, sacrifices must be made.

On Saturday, a few of us went to a karaoke bar in Burbank called Sardo’s. And no, I don’t sing karaoke. I prefer to spectate. Godley came dressed as a redneck.

The Dude/Nice Gentleman/Whatever Other Awkward Names I’ve Referred to Him As came too, dressed somewhat un-PC as a Mormon missionary.

And on the actual night of Halloween, my friend Laura and I decided to join the madness on the streets of West Hollywood. Every year, West Hollywood throws a Carnaval Halloween party, and the streets are closed down. Some of the costumes are pretty hilarious.

Laura found the guys from Modern Family.

I met the Queen.

And I also met my costume twin! He decided to go the political route and had a sign that said “Occupy Park Place” on one side and “I Am the 1%” on the other. He gave me $500 in Monopoly money for one of my Get Out of Jail Free cards.

Needless to say, I didn’t have much time to cook full meals with all the Halloweening I did. But I whipped up a pretty delicious dinner in less than 10=5 minutes that I had to share with you.

Step 1, boil some ravioli. I used cheese + arugula ravioli from Trader Joe’s.

Step 2, saute some chopped spinach and set aside.

Step 3, melt about 1 tablespoon of butter (I use Brummel & Brown spread made with yogurt, so it’s lighter) with 1 clove of minced garlic (I used already-minced garlic from a jar) and a few sprinkles of ground sage over medium heat. Let the butter brown a bit so it has a nice, nutty flavor, but take care to ensure it doesn’t burn!

Step 4, drain the pasta, and toss everything together in the skillet to make sure it’s well combined. You’re done!

The next time I made it, I didn’t have enough ravioli to make it a full meal. No worries, though, I just sliced up some chicken apple sausage and threw it into the mix at the very end. I actually think I liked it better this way.

I love this recipe, because it tasted like the rich sage brown butter sauce you come across often during fall, but it was much lighter due to the small amount of butter. And it was quick!

So how were your Halloweens? Dress up as anything interesting? 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 5:16 pm

    Haha, I love your costume! I also love your costume twin and his sign is hilarious. I didn’t dress up this year since I just stayed home handing out candy. There were some super cute costumes and it was so much fun seeing the neighborhood full of trick-or-treaters.

    • November 2, 2011 11:32 pm

      I wish we had trick-or-treaters in my neighborhood! By Monday, I wasn’t too into celebrating anymore.

Leave a Reply

