Skip to content

Cafe con… Chocolate?

October 21, 2011

I took a day off today.

No, not from work. Every day recently has been a “day off” from work.

I meant from working out.

I inexplicably woke up this morning feeling run-down, stuffy, and my eyes were a little puffy and dry. So rather than drag myself to the gym for cardio and abs, I decided to take the day off.

I wasn’t in the mood for a big breakfast, so I had a almond butter and jelly banana sandwich, something I’d completely forgotten about until I saw it on Anastasia’s blog yesterday!

The breadless banana sandwich worked out perfectly, seeing as I just had to toss the rest of my bread for containing colors that should never be found on bread.

It seemed like a cafe con leche kind of morning today. But since I’m not a huge fan of having dairy when I show any symptoms of a cold, I decided to crack open the carton of chocolate almond milk I picked up at TJ’s the other day.

I stuck my little cafesito (oh man, I sound sooo authentic using Spanish words and such) on the stove while the chocolate almond milk nuked for 2 minutes.

After the espresso had brewed and the chocolate almond milk had heated up, I combined the two in the mug I painted when my mom and Mia were in town (with one of my favorite quotes from the movie Practical Magic). The legit-looking foam on top is courtesy of my $2 frother from Ikea.

Looks like I own a $200 espresso maker, yes?

Because chocolate almond milk has a lot less calories than traditional chocolate milk, I drank the size-equivalent of a Starbucks Grande– but with half the calories (a nonfat, no-whip Grande mocha is 220 calories, mine was 110!).

After breakfast, I was feeling better already.

Running Towards Thanksgiving

Since my run yesterday ended without any pain, I decided to join in on a running challenge created by Monica from Run, Eat, Repeat: Pile on the Miles. Instead of piling on weight this fall– which can easily happen between chilly weather and the holidays– the idea is to pile on at least 5 miles a week. Once you’ve run at least 5 miles, you fill in your part on a spreadsheet and are entered for weekly drawings. The best part of it is that it’s not a competition to see who can run the most miles– you just run at least five miles. However many over 5 you run is up to you. So if you feel like giving yourself a little extra motivation as the weather starts cooling down, come join me! The challenge runs from the beginning of November through Thanksgiving.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

