Skip to content

Dinner de Giada

October 20, 2011

Sooo… the whole setting-my-alarm-to-go-to-spin-class thing didn’t really work out. I seem to be morally opposed to setting any kind of alarm unless the place I’m headed earns me a paycheck.

But I DID end up going for a run today!

I woke up to my knee feeling much, much better (no pain at all, and I even tried a couple one-legged squats on it to be sure). I kept it the run at 2 miles, and I made sure to add in a couple walk breaks just to make sure I didn’t overdo it on my first run.

My knee was just fine during the run, and I didn’t feel any soreness afterward, either! But just as a precaution, I chilled out with a bag of frozen blueberries afterward (Get it? Chilled out? ‘Cause they’re frozen? Anyone?).

Later on, my friend Shamus– who works for a show that’s on hiatus this week– came and hung out during non-working-people hours. I then introduced him to the Food Network (he rarely ventures out to non-sports programming), and he began to drool over a recipe by Giada de Laurentiis.

“I can make that!” I told him.

He looked at me with slight doubt, but I assured him I could do it.

So off to Trader Joe’s we went, and $18 later, we had everything necessary to make Chicken Meuniere with Tomato and Parsley Sauce.

I used the knife skills I’ve been learning in a cooking class I’ve been taking to properly dice a tomato. You make cuts like this…

… and then slice normally. The scores you make leave you with perfectly diced tomatoes that look like this:

So pretty. 🙂

Another thing I had learned in the beginning of taking the class was something called mise en place, where you place all your pre-measured ingredients out beforehand. This way you don’t have to worry about searching, pouring, and measuring while you’re in the middle of cooking. The sauce ingredients, just before I zested my first-ever lemon (Seriously? And I tell people I know how to cook?):

And Shamus, ever the helpful sous chef, salted, peppered, and dredged the chicken in some flour. Honestly, I’m not sure there’s any way to make raw chicken look appetizing– especially if it looks wrinkly and powdery.

Maybe you should just un-see this photo.

I put the ugly-looking raw chicken into a pan with olive oil and butter and cooked it for a few minutes on each side. After cooking the chicken, all the sauce ingredients went into the same pan.

Once the chicken had been cooked, the sauce simmered, and the pasta boiled, the fun part came.

The eating part, of course.

The Chicken Meuniere recipe was incredibly easy to make, and it tasted delicious. The chicken came out tender enough to cut with a fork, and the sauce was light and refreshing.

 

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2011 6:37 am

    That looks incredible. You can come teach me your cooking ways anytime!

    • October 21, 2011 10:16 am

      Hahaha I’m glad you like it! It was super easy to make– you should give it a try!

  2. Errign permalink
    October 20, 2011 4:22 pm

    Ugly raw chicken aside, dinner looks delicious!

    • October 21, 2011 10:16 am

      Thanks! If my friend Shamus weren’t so proud of his first accomplishment as a sous chef, I probably would’ve left it out. 🙂

  3. October 20, 2011 7:19 pm

    I’ve never zested a lemon either… if it makes you feel any better! But then again I’ve never turned out anything as amazing as your chicken either. 🙂

    Hope the knee gets better!

    • October 21, 2011 10:17 am

      Thank you! It seems to be feeling better little by little. Now I just need to stop wearing ridiculous high heels…

Leave a Reply

