Skip to content

Bum Knee, Bummed Brittany

October 19, 2011

I went to sleep last night with some Icy Hot on my knee, and I woke up around 6am to my skin being ON FIRE. I’ve never had that happen before, and it was a pretty painful way to wake up. Have any of you had that happen to you with Icy Hot?

Icy Hot’s been helping big time with soreness, but I’m not about to be regularly woken up early with my skin feeling like it took a dive into boiling water.

Once I woke up from Sleep 2.0 (sorry, my unemployed day isn’t going to start at 6am), I went for a 3 mile power-walk around my neighborhood. I didn’t feel like going to the gym today– and I was worried about the impact of the downhill part of hiking– so I decided to stick to walking today.

My knee did great on the walk, and I think I might try spinning tomorrow. I’m not sure I can keep up with walking, since I’m so used to more high-intensity workouts. I kept wanting to break out into a run, but I had to remind myself that it wasn’t worth messing my knee up more.

Aside from not being able to run, hike, or do anything that requires me to use my wrists (oh yeah, my left wrist is on the fritz, too), I’m doing my best to stay active.

And when I get back from my walks or treadmill hill-climbs, I make sure to eat some delicious and very colorful food. 😀

After my power walk, I came home and made a pumpkin smoothie with some raisins and chopped pecans sprinkled on top. I like my smoothies super-thick so I can eat them out of a bowl– kind of like ice cream.

Pumpkin Smoothie

makes one serving

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/3 c pumpkin
  • a few dashes of pumpkin pie spice blend
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • splash of milk

I just finished the last bit of my canned pumpkin, so it looks like there will be a few pumpkin-less days ahead of me until I get back to the grocery store. 😦

Here’s to actually setting an alarm to get to spinning. Hope your Wednesday’s great!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Errign permalink
    October 19, 2011 1:02 pm

    Your smoothie looks great! I’ve never used Icy Hot, so I’m afraid I can’t help you, but it sounds like an irritated reactions?

    • October 19, 2011 9:17 pm

      Yeah, you may be right. Whatever it was, I’m too afraid to try it again!

Leave a Reply

