Skip to content

Hot Pink from the Farmer’s Market

October 18, 2011

Instead of the usual sit-down restaurant for Sunday brunch, I headed down to the Hollywood Farmer’s Market for some street-food-style grub. Since my hunger got the best of me and I didn’t come up for air to take a photo, you’ll just have to imagine a chorizo breakfast burrito, home fries, and some hot sauce. Let me tell you, it was glorious.

And since I was in the middle of booths upon booths of fresh produce, I turned it into a mini-grocery trip, too. A very mini one.

The finds were as follows…

An orchid– my favorite flower– purchased by a very nice gentleman. 🙂

Some wonky-looking tomatoes that taste delicious (more to come on that).

And… this guy. A dragon fruit.

You might’ve heard of dragon fruit before, but maybe you didn’t know exactly what they were. I honestly thought it was a fake fruit that Sobe flavored its juices with. But it’s very real, and it tastes like a cross between a kiwi and a pear.

Dragon fruit’s proper name is pitaya, and it’s a cactus fruit. They’re grown as far as Australia and as close as Mexico, and the inside has small edible seeds (like kiwis) with either white or HOT PINK flesh.

I was kind of hoping for the hot pink kind (judge freely), and… well…

Needless to say, I haven’t been this excited about eating fruit in a while.

I took the fruit out of the skin (which is inedible) by scooping it out in one piece with a larger spoon– about the size of a tablespoon.

From there I chopped it up and put it back into the skin– just for pretty. 😀

Since one piece of fruit is hardly enough for breakfast, I also sliced up one of the wonky yellow tomatoes, browned them in a skillet with salt, pepper, and very little olive oil. On top of the tomatoes went two scrambled eggs mixed with a couple pinches of light sharp cheddar.

Today’s breakfast was a very good breakfast.

Aside from the fact that dragon fruit’s quite pretty, it was pretty delicious as well. I was such a huge fan that I walked over to Whole Foods and bought another to have as a dessert for an early dinner I’m planning for tomorrow. But after paying $3 for the farmer’s market one and oh… SEVEN DOLLARS AND FIFTY CENTS… for the second one (it was twice the size of the first), I think my obsession with dragon fruit will have to be short-lived.

Have you tried any exotic fruit lately? What’d you think?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2011 6:02 am

    That color is GORGEOUS! Wow.. I can’t get over how awesome it looks. I am going to try and find one of these and hope it’s the same color.

    • October 21, 2011 10:18 am

      The one I bought from the Whole Foods by me has hot pink in the middle too, so hopefully they’ll have some at other stores?

Trackbacks

  1. Breakfast Pizza and a Malibu Hike « Pretty Fit, Pretty Healthy, Pretty Happy

Leave a Reply

