Skip to content

Boozey Mac n Cheese

October 17, 2011

My left knee’s been on the fritz lately (just as my right knee healed…. GRRRRR), so I skipped my running plans, my hiking back-up plans, and decided to do something a bit more low impact: hill climbs!

Hill climbs are great because they’re lower impact than running or even using the elliptical at a high resistance (which is how I usually use it).

It’s my first day back at the gym in about 4 days, since I was trying to give my knee a rest, so I kept my cardio to about 20 minutes, and it went something like this:

(To start off, go grab your old, jenky iPod you haven’t updated since college and put on 10 Thing I Hate About You to make the time go faster.)

Mins 1-3: Warm up with a power walk at 4.0, no incline.

Min 4: Incline to 5.0, lower speed to 3.5. (Make sure you do NOT hold on to the treadmill, you drastically reduce the effectiveness of your workout!!)

Min 5: Incline to 9.0.

Min 6: Incline to 12.0.

Mins 7-9: Power walk at 4.0, no incline.

Min 10: Incline to 9.0, speed at 3.5.

Min 11: Incline to 12.0.

Min 12: Incline to 15.0.

Min 13: Incline to 15.0, increase speed to 4.0.

Min 14-16: Power walk at 4.0, no incline.

Min 17: Incline at 9.0, 3.5 speed.

Min 18: Incline at 12.0, 4.0 speed.

Min 19: Incline at 12.0, 3.8 speed (I was starting to break into a jog because I couldn’t keep the wide strides, it was kind of funny to watch I’m sure).

Min 20: Incline at 15.0, 3.8 speed.

Cool down for 5 or so minutes afterward.

And now… how I take a craving and make it worth the indulgence.

Over the weekend, I had a serious craving for macaroni and cheese. Since I don’t keep boxes of Kraft lying around for in-case-of-cheese-mood-break-glass situations, I had to improvise with what I had lying around the house.

And of course, one of those things was wine.

Overall, I eat pretty healthily, but I like to indulge, too. However, when I indulge in something, I like to make it worth the calories. So if I’m craving mac ‘n cheese, I’m going to have mac ‘n cheddar wine sauce.

I took part of an old recipe (the scallops with cheddar wine sauce), and tossed a bowl of whole wheat pasta with the cheddar wine sauce.

Sidenote: After seeing Anastasia from Working Out & Eating In use powdered vegetable stock, I went on a search of my own to find a substitute for buying chicken stock by the carton. I always end of letting most of it go bad, and then I never have chicken stock around when I need it.

And then I found this guy at Trader Joe’s– individual packets of chicken stock that you mix with a cup of hot water!

After making your chicken stock (I microwaved a cup of water in a Pyrex dish for 3 minutes and then stirred in the stock– no need to make things more difficult than they need to be), start your pasta.

To make the ridiculously-easy sauce, you first brown some finely chopped garlic (or roasted garlic paste if you feel like roasting garlic first– I didn’t this time, and it came out just fine) in a tablespoon of butter, quickly adding in a tablespoon of flour to brown the whole thing. Stir in your wine, let it bubble, then add in 1/2 c of the chicken stock and bring that to a boil, too.

Kitchen safety 101: keep your PLASTIC measuring cup full of cheese away from your burning stove. One of these days my luck is going to run out, and I’m going to have a melted measuring cup.

Stupid safety snafus aside, whisk in 1/2 c of cheese in. I used light sharp cheddar, but I think something milder would work best. Maybe a four cheese blend? Throw in a dash of salt, too.

When you’re done, toss in the pasta and make sure it’s all coated evenly. The recipe makes enough sauce for 2 servings of pasta.

Again, if you want the original recipe, find it here.

Stay tuned tomorrow to see some neon fruit I picked up at the farmer’s market. 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 18, 2011 9:50 am

    I’m glad you found the powdered broth! Your mac & cheese recipe look delicious and I will definitely make ti sometime. I’ve totally melted a couple of measuring cups and a plastic spoon haha I don’t know what I’m thinking when I lay it pretty much right next to the stove eye.

Leave a Reply

