Skip to content

The Speediest Snack

October 15, 2011

I had this great post planned today about how I turned a craving for mac ‘n cheese into whipping up whole wheat pasta with a cheddar wine sauce. But right around breakfast time, I got a Facebook message inviting me to this:

If you’ve never heard of the Spike Scream Awards, it’s basically an awards show exclusively for horror, sci fi, fantasy, and comics on the Spike channel.

A nerd’s ultimate fantasy.

So in about 20 minutes, my relaxing day of writing, tidying, and baking turned into an emergency trip to the Bev Center to put together an outfit and a very short window of time to post something.

I give you… the speediest snack ever: a homemade yogurt drink.

By the way, I got this idea from the V8 Fusion package. I’m not that clever.

Step 1: Grab a small can of V8 (it’s 8 fl oz), non-fat plain or Greek yogurt, and a clean jar (mine is still holding on to the last remnants of the almond butter label, damn jar). V8 Fusion has a serving each of fruit and veggies, and it’s a pretty good substitute for the common folk like myself who have yet to invest in a juicer.

Step 2: Pour in the can and about a cup of yogurt. You could also add in some vanilla protein powder, if you felt like the 12g from plain yogurt or 22g from Greek yogurt wasn’t cutting it.

Step 3: If you have some frozen blueberries, throw some of those in. Because… well, I don’t know why. But it seemed like a good idea and it was fun to munch on a few while sipping on my yogurt drink.

Don’t forget to buy organic or wild blueberries– they’re part of the Dirty Dozen.

Step 4: Run out the door with your yogurt drink. QUICK! YOU’RE GOING TO BE LATE!!!

Have a great Saturday! I’m going to do a few crunches before I shower and slip on a dress that toes the line between ladylike and… “what is that.. a shirt?”

P.S. This guy– among a few others– is going to be there:

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

