Skip to content

Garlic and Wine Shrimp

October 10, 2011
tags:

I’ve got a bit of a busy day ahead of me today (even without a job… I know), so today’s post is going to be a bit short.

I bought a huge tray of shrimp the other day without a real idea of what I was going to do with it.

Well… huge for one person to consume at least (yeah yeah, I know, I bought it already cooked because I’m lazy).

So I did some brainstorming, some Web-surfing, some inventory of my fridge, and I grabbed up enough shrimp to make two portions to get things rolling.

And came up with this…

Garlic and Wine Shrimp

makes 2 servings

  • about 20 pieces of shrimp
  • olive oil
  • cheap white wine
  • 1/2 shallot, chopped
  • 1 T minced garlic, or about 2 cloves
  • pinch of cumin
  • pinch of oregano
  • rice (I used purple rice), or even better… GRITS
  1. Sautee the shallots and garlic in olive oil over medium heat. Throw in the shrimp.
  2. After the shrimp has been either cooked– or if you bought it already cooked, well incorporated with the shallots and garlic– throw in a few splashes of wine and allow it to bubble so that the booze cooks out. Add in your spices.
  3. If it doesn’t have enough wine left over to spread over rice or grits, you can add in a little more wine to bubble down. I also served the shrimp with some sauteed spinach, because to me meals feel weird without a little green.
I use really, really fancy wine for my cooking…

(Kidding. If you don’t have a Trader Joe’s near you, this is commonly known as “Two-Buck Chuck,” and it costs $1.99 for a bottle. And… it’s actually not bad. For $2 wine. Or maybe even $7 wine?)

Here’s a couple more shots of my lunch before I wrap things up for the day…

Alright, I’ve gotta run (quite literally, I’m off to run a 5K-for-one around my neighborhood), then run some errands, and then run my butt into a chair to get some Internetz things done.

Have a great Monday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 8:00 pm

    Great recipe! I don’t think buying pre-cooked shrimp is lazy at all πŸ™‚ Just efficient! And I’m totally envious of your $2 wine. That’s insane cheap!

    • October 12, 2011 9:30 pm

      Two Buck Chuck is the best! I mostly use it for cooking, but it’s great to take a couple (or a lot) of sips while I’m cooking. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

