Skip to content

Palatable (?!) in Purple

September 28, 2011

Seriously, that was the best synonym for “delicious” that started with a P. And the only time I’ve heard someone try to rhyme with purple was in a Three 6 Mafia song… so I’m pretty sure it’s not appropriate.

Rhyming/alliteration issues aside, purple is a color that I’ve inherited a fondness for.

Notice, well, the entire kitchen in the background. That’s my mom’s.

(Please ignore the sweatface.)

And now it shows up in several places of mine.

Like the accent wall in my condo back in Tampa (which I’m still obsessed with).

It’s more of a blue-violet, which is my favorite shade of purple.

And my bedroom in LA…

It also makes quite a few appearances in my clothes, shoes, and jewelry. So as if purple didn’t make enough of an appearance in my life, yesterday I decided to add a little purple to my food.

For breakfast, I dressed up some plain puffed millet with banana scramble (from The Edible Perspective) and some frozen blueberries.

Which made purple milk.

I usually eat cereal with fresh blueberries, but the texture change of frozen blueberries was great. And who hates purple milk? Not this guy.

A lunchtime, I tried a new kind of grain– purple rice!

It’s also known as black rice, and it’s a good source of iron and antioxidants (from the anthocyanins that make it dark).

And it looks like this when it’s cooked.

I topped it with some curry I whipped up quickly with curry sauce, tomato sauce, and a little sriracha for heat. In the mix was spinach, some frozen mixed veggies, and garbanzo beans.

I love when my food has lots of color. The more color, the more delicious. 🙂

What’s your favorite color? Do you decorate with it? Wear it? Eat it?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2011 7:32 am

    Oooh, love the looks of that purple rice. I finally made a banana scramble the other day…it had been far too long! Thanks for linking!! 🙂

    • September 29, 2011 8:37 am

      You’re welcome! And thanks for creating so many great recipes!

Trackbacks

  1. Garlic and Wine Shrimp « Pretty Fit, Pretty Healthy, Pretty Happy

Leave a Reply

