Skip to content

Fun-employment?

September 26, 2011

Today marks the first day since college graduation that I’m unemployed.

Because of the nature of the work I’m in, I had a definite end date for my job, which leaves me waiting for my next opportunity.

And I can’t say I’m too thrilled about it. So to keep me occupied, feeling purposeful, and improving myself along the way, I’ve decided to give myself a few projects.

Starting with working to increase how much I can run. I started today with my usual 2 mile jaunt around the neighborhood.

The run went well (certainly better than my runs in Tampa in 90+ degree heat with 100% humidity), but my legs have been sore all day!

Afterward, I walked over to a nearby coffee shop and had breakfast for lunch– and egg white, turkey bacon, and cheddar breakfast sandwich and a nonfat latte (my replacement for cafe con leche). I got a little writing done, some job applications, and I ran out when a news crew wanted to interview the owner about Obama being in West Hollywood.

At a coffee shop, mid-day, with my laptop– I’m so LA-unemployed.

I bought some figs from Whole Foods yesterday, and I’ve really been wanting to eat them with some honey and ricotta, so a walk to Trader Joe’s was necessary.

But when I got there, I found something else that sounded even more delicious…

Blueberry vanilla goat cheese?! Are you kidding me???

Perfection.

I’ll probably eat figs and blueberry vanilla goat cheese every day. Not kidding.

For dinner, I kept things light and meatless with an heirloom tomato, 1/4 and avocado, and 1/2 c of garbanzo beans tossed in some cinnamon pear balsamic vinegar I bought at The Filling Station in New York. They don’t seem to sell that kind on their website, but any fruit balsamic vinegar would be great.

Look how red the tomatoes are!

If you’re not buying organic heirloom tomatoes, you should give them a try.

I can’t say today was a great day, but I made it through just fine. I know that work is just over the horizon, things in other areas will get better, and slumps are only temporary.

And in the meantime, there’s plenty of recipes to be tested and created, a writing project waiting to be finished, and a running goal to be met.

Onward and upward!

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 8:32 am

    I’m so happy you’re blogging here again! I recently quit my job and have been pursuing freelance work. It’s definitely an adjustment and feels extremely weird.. especially when I’m hanging out mid-day in coffee shops as well. Haha :]

    You’ll find something soon. Good luck with everything and I can’t wait for more posts!

    • September 28, 2011 11:11 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, the first few days have been a bit of a difficult adjustment, but I’ll be fine for now. I do enjoy the extra time to write in the meantime!

Leave a Reply

