Skip to content

Oh the Places I’ve Been..

September 22, 2011
tags:

I’m back!

After a bit of a break to wind things down at my old job and enjoy a nice vacation in London, I’m back to putting more focus into zee blog. And with that comes a few changes– including the new header (you like?).

Here are a few more changes you can expect from Pretty Fit, Pretty Healthy, Pretty Happy in the near future:

  • More posts, more often! I’m taking a short (hopefully!) hiatus from the working world, which means I can put a little more time into the blog.
  • Better balance of workouts and meals. I haven’t posted workouts in a while, and when I do, they always seem to get swallowed up by the rest of my post. I’m working on ways to make them a bit more visible.
  • More me. I don’t post a whole lot about me, friends, family, or Dakota. This time around, I’ll be incorporating more personal stuff. I promise it won’t get obnoxious.
  • More cheek. Sometimes I feel like I sound a little too saccharine-sweet with my food blog so I don’t risk offending people. Everyone who knows me outside of PF, PH, PH knows that’s not really me. So while I’m not going to start cursing like a sailor and hate on everything, there might be a few less cheerful exclamation points from me, and hopefully a few more LOLs out of you.
  • More you. You didn’t think I was going to include more about me without a little more about you, right? Now you can ask me a question about anything (a good workout, good tunes to run to, how to not make a potato explode in the microwave, whatever) and it’ll be published (or not, if you prefer it not to be) for anyone else wondering the same thing.

So to start things off on the right foot, to welcome fall, and to bring a little bit of my London trip back with me, I thought I’d make some scones– make that pumpkin scones.

While in London, I had the occasional tea and scones. In England, they usually have their scones with clotted cream (a lot like butter) and jam. It’s DELICIOUS.

However, unless you walk 7+ miles a day like we did in London, they can be a little much.

I took this pumpkin scones recipe, slimmed it down a bit, and added some icing on top. They came out more like tea scones– not as moist as I’m sure the original recipe intended– but I didn’t get any complaints from my taste testers!

The advantage of cooking at my mom’s place is she has counter space. LOTS OF IT.

So I put out my ingredients on one side of the counter, and the mixing bowls (and my laptop to play a little Queen) on the other side.

 

While I worked, Dakota enjoyed a little bit of canned pumpkin. Did you know that canned pumpkin is good for dogs’ stomachs? Just make sure you get them canned pumpkin, NOT canned pumpkin pie filling (which has spices and is sweetened).

 

Dakota’s clearly a huge fan.

I mixed my dry ingredients in one bowl, and the wet ingredients in the other, combining the two gradually. I then took pieces out and rolled them into 1 1/2- 2 inch balls and flattened them out slightly on a foil-lined cookie sheet. Cue 20 minutes baking time and…

Voila!

 

I took a piece to taste, and surprised my mom and Mia with one each when I picked them up.

Pumpkin Scones with Cinnamon-Vanilla Icing

adapted from Joy of Baking

makes about 8 scones

Scones

  • 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/3 c brown sugar
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice blend
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/4 c butter, melted
  • 1/3 c vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 c canned pumpkin
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
Icing
  • 1/2 c powdered sugar
  • vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 400 and line a cookie sheet with foil. In mixing bowl, mix the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, spice, baking powder, baking soda, salt). In a separate mixing bowl, mix the wet ingredients (butter, almond milk, vanilla, canned pumpkin).
  2. Gradually mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, but don’t overmix– just until everything is combined.
  3. Roll 1 1/2- 2 inch balls and slightly flatten onto the cookie sheet. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until they’ve lightly browned.
  4. Once the scones have cooled, mix together the icing by combining the powdered sugar and cinnamon and gradually mixing in small amounts of the vanilla almond milk until a paste is formed. Spread icing over the scones.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    September 22, 2011 7:08 pm

    Happy to see you’re back!!

  2. September 28, 2011 3:28 pm

    Scones with cream and jam, the British know where its at! Welcome back!

    • September 28, 2011 11:11 pm

      Thanks for the warm welcome! And just wait ’til tomorrow for a post dedicated to the scones I miss so dearly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

