Skip to content

A Savory Take on Oats

August 4, 2011
tags: ,

It’s no secret that I love me some oats. And I’ve shared quite a few on here, showing up in several different ways, such as…

strawberry banana oats, topped with chocolate hazelnut butter.

… an ingredient in Vegan Banana Bread, topped with banana fro-yo.

… part of a banana scramble, sitting on top of an English muffin and underneath some heated up frozen blueberries. 

… or in a recurring role as Overnight Oats.

And although my sweet tooth has returned in some forms, I still have yet to wake up and crave anything sweet.

That wouldn’t be a problem if I didn’t have bags (yes, bags) of oats in my pantry. Just sitting there, looking at me, waiting to get used.

I hate wasting food (even a $3 bag of oats), so I opened up my fridge and got to brainstorming.

And came up with this…

SAVORY OATS!

I cooked the oats in salted water (although next time, I think I’ll cook them in veggie or chicken broth to give them more flavor), then mixed in a few grinds of black pepper and about 1/4 c of light cheese. On top went a little bit on sweet onion, an egg, and couple slices of pancetta. Protein-heavy, savory, and DELICIOUS.

Katherine from Left Coast Contessa tagged me to do a 7 Links post, so that’s coming up next!

Now here’s a question for you…

How would you make YOUR savory oats?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2011 7:31 am

    I just found your site:) Looks awesome! Yummy coffee!

  2. August 13, 2011 2:00 pm

    I really love oats. I haven’t had them in awhile but I have two huge bags full of them in the pantry. This inspired me to break them out and experiment!

    • August 28, 2011 10:29 am

      I can’t wait to see some of the stuff you come up with!

Leave a Reply

