Skip to content

The Traveling Breakfast Dilemma

July 15, 2011
tags: ,

My sweet tooth came back a bit (I may have eaten an embarrassing amount of the cheesecake my co-worker made me as an early birthday present), but I still cant’ seem to eat sweet foods in the morning.

Before ‘The Case of the Disappearing Sweet Tooth,” I’d dream up some great omelette I was going to make the next morning. Then I’d get up and want nothing to do with eggs, and make some delicious, fruity oatmeal. Now, the opposite is true.

I baked some oatmeal using this recipe (subbing NSA applesauce for the butter and not using any sugar), making enough for DAYS (days, I tell you!) of delicious blueberry-banana oatmeal.

Then I woke up Monday morning and warmed up a square.

 

It smelled delicious, and it tasted like a lighter bread pudding. And to make things even better, I put some non-fat vanilla Greek yogurt on top.

But when the plate was empty, I thought, “That’s not really what I wanted for breakfast.”

So most of the pan went to waste.

And then I went back to eating eggs for the rest of the week.

Like an egg white sandwich with spinach and Daiya Vegan Cheddar “Cheese.”

 

(If you’ve never had Daiya cheese before, I highly recommend trying it out. I bought it when I thought my mom was coming in town because it’s dairy/gluten/soy free, and I ended up using it myself. It’s very yummy, melts just like dairy cheese, and doesn’t have a lot of the saturated fat that delicious dairy cheese has.)

And an egg white omelette with Trader Joe’s Sweet Apple Chicken Sausage, spinach, and Daiya Vegan Cheddar “Cheese.” With two whole wheat mini-pitas on the side.

Here’s my dilemma, though: These breakfasts worked out perfectly, because I worked out at home those days. Most of the time, I work out in the mornings and bring my breakfast to go, which I later eat at the office.

My office isn’t exactly equipped with a range, I don’t want to bring microwave breakfast sandwiches every morning (delicious as they may be), and grabbing a spinach feta wrap from Starbucks every morning adds up.

So my question to  you all is…

For those of you who pack their breakfasts and don’t always eat sweet stuff in the morning… what do you bring?

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

