Skip to content

The Case of the Disappearing Sweet Tooth

July 1, 2011

Hi, my name is Brittany, and I’m a sugar addict.

I like frozen yogurt, candy, cupcakes, and all things chocolate.

For breakfast, I would only eat sweet foods, like oatmeal with fruit, overnight oats, or smoothies in a bowl…

But lately, I have zero appetite for sweet food.

None.

I brought overnight oats to work on Monday (because who doesn’t like overnight oats?), and the thought of eating them repulsed me.

So I walked down the street and bought a spinach feta wrap instead.

I figured it was just a one-day thing, so before going to bed, I decided I’d make oatmeal the next morning.

But ended up making an egg white, onion, and goat cheese omelette with two mini pitas topped with guacamole and cayenne.

SPICY FOOD FOR BREAKFAST?! ME?!

So now with oatmeal, almond-butter-and-banana-on-toast, overnight oats, and smoothies no longer appealing to me, I’ve been eating eggs like it’s my job.

And I never crave dessert.

Or candy.

OR EVEN FROZEN YOGURT.

So here’s my question to you all:

Have your taste buds ever made a sudden change? And how long did it last?

I have so much oats, vanilla protein powder, dried fruit, etc. in my pantry… and it’s gotta get used at some point!

And in case you wanted to killer ab circuit I did the other day (which included a bunch of amazing moves Trainer Erika taught me), here it is…

2 full sets of the following exercises (adjust weights/reps to fit your fitness level, obviously):

  1. Lying down with legs straight, holding a 20 lb plate in front of you (like this guy, but lying down flat, not on a ball), slowly bring legs up at the same time, and lower. That’s one. Do 10.
  2. Hold a side crunch position for 10 seconds, then switch to the other side. Repeat both sides. Come up to half boat pose and hold for 30 seconds. That’s one. Do two.
  3. Get in plank position with feet on a stability ball. Bring your butt up so your legs scoot in closer to your body without bending your legs. That’s one. Do 10.
Prepare to feel it the next day. I still do.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 9, 2011 8:05 pm

    Gosh, sometimes it feels like I only have an appetite for sweet stuff.

Leave a Reply

