Skip to content

Latin Night with Friends

June 20, 2011

Work has been slowly but surely creeping into my personal time, to the point where I barely have personal time, so it was nice to “get away” in between phone calls to cook with friends.

It was even nicer that everything was Latin-themed.

My friend Jon (hereinafter referred to as “Mosh”) made arroz con pollo– and the only time I’ve had a better recipe is when my Abuela Bellita makes it. Not an ounce of Latin blood in him, he could shame even the most talented of Cuban cooks.

 

Browning the chicken before throwing everything together.

 

Getting there!

 

The finished product, which I had to taste before it came out of the pot. I just needed to make sure it wasn’t poisonous. 😉

 

 

There was a little of this… but I may or may not have been nursing a red wine hangover myself, so I abstained and stuck to water.

I brought mojo-marinated chicken tenders, which I grilled out on Mosh’s deck.

See if you can see the one I took a bite out of to taste-test. I ended up giving the rest to Brady, Mosh’s room mate’s dog.

 

Brady chewed on his bone and kept me company while I grilled…

… and my room mate Joanna took over grilling/grill-cleaning duties while I reluctantly answered another work phone call.

 

Yum!

My friend Zulay brought these black beans that were so good, I told her I’d request them if I only had one meal left. It’s a family recipe, but I’m making it my personal mission to make something like it through trial and error.

She also brought a spinach salad with nectarines, cucumber, avocado, cherry tomatoes, and home made dressing.

And while Zulay was working had, Jo and I played take-pretty-pictures. Except I had no makeup on, and I was so busy with work ( 😦 ) that I didn’t have time to do my hair either.

So pay no mind to the hair and (lack of) makeup.

The spread…

Thanks to my camera’s timer, we got a group photo. But Mosh decided to take a brief nap.

I ended up topping my chicken with more of Zulay’s magical black beans. Which apparently were kind of a hit.

 

The Latin-themed dinner was a huge hit, so we’re planning to expand it to more people. I myself am never one to turn down an excuse to eat Latin food. 😀

I took the rest of the mojo chicken home to use as leftovers this week. Stay tuned to see two ways I use it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Simon Canasi permalink
    June 20, 2011 3:12 pm

    Yummy Yummy Yummy – gotta love that Cuban food

  2. June 21, 2011 10:54 am

    That looks so good! I love mojo chicken!

    Btw, I think you look great in that picture! You don’t even need make up 🙂

Leave a Reply

