Skip to content

Home for the Weekend

June 1, 2011
tags: , ,

This past Memorial Weekend, my mom and Mia had planned to come out and visit me from Thursday to Tuesday. I planned a birthday party for Mia, a trip to Disneyland, and maybe a trip to The Grove– so I had an excuse to go into the American Girl store. 🙂

But things happen, and plans change. My step-dad ended up in the hospital Wednesday night (less than 12 hours before their flight), and they had to cancel (he’s better now). Ever the thoughtful parent, Pops bought me a ticket to Tampa for the weekend and even got a free upgrade to first class (holy crap… just… holy crap).

For Mia’s birthday this year, I had made her a checklist of different things to do in LA, and she got to pick one from each section (where we ate for breakfast, a place to sightsee, and a few things to do after). Since we were about 2500 miles away from LA, I changed her list around to make it Tampa-friendly and presented her with a day full of options.

She was pretty jazzed.

For breakfast, she chose going to Starbucks to read a book over going to a fancy brunch. We arrived at Starbucks, I put in my order, and she realized she didn’t really like any of the food at Starbucks.

So we left and went to Einstein Bagels– a decision I was more than okay with, seeing as we don’t have any in LA. Sorry, nice lady at Starbucks.

Happy camper.

Mia got a plain bagel with peanut butter and a cup of fresh OJ.

I got a honey wheat bagel thin with blueberry cream cheese and vanilla hazelnut coffee.

If I’m going to chase a 10 year old around all day, I’m going to need some kind of caffeinated beverage.

After breakfast, I gave her the choice between painting pottery or going to MOSI (Museum of Science and Industry). A girl after my own heart, she chose the museum.

We learned how tornadoes work…

… and played trivia. I won only by a hair. She’s catching up to me a liiiittle too fast.

After walking through the main part of the museum, we headed over to the Kids in Charge play area. Mia cheated her way through a rope maze:

And played in the kid-sized Publix grocery store and deli while I read the newspaper.

My lunch:

And… dessert?

After Kids in Charge, we stopped in the museum cafe for a snack.

What, might you wonder, do you buy for a snack in a science museum?

WHY, ICE CREAM OF THE FUTURE, OF COURSE!

On our way out, we stopped by the butterfly garden. Butterflies are my favorite animal (/insect?), so I think I enjoyed it more than she did.

Pretty. 😀

For her last option, I might’ve done a little manipulating. I gave her a choice of a “treat”: frozen yogurt, a cupcake, or a trip to my dad’s beach house.

Curious as to which she picked?

While she dug up every shell and rock on Anna Maria Island, I caught up on some much needed reading.

In terms of birthday presents, I think I did pretty well this year– no complaints from Mia, at least. And coming home for a weekend also meant seeing the rest of my family and spending time with friends I missed terribly. I may not have gotten to play tour guide around LA, but I’d say the shift in plans worked out pretty well. 🙂

Stay tuned this week for a bit of a shift in how I blog.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2011 10:00 am

    Pretty awesome – That was super sweet of you! Looks like you girls had fun 🙂

    • June 9, 2011 10:15 pm

      We had a blast! And it was a fun way for us to make up for me missing her birthday (I might’ve had more fun than her 🙂 ).

  2. June 7, 2011 9:56 pm

    Looks like a fun weekend. Also, random, love your dress and belt combo!

  3. June 15, 2011 1:26 pm

    I absolutely love the idea of giving her the choice to choose from a bunch of fun options!!! I was surprised at what she chose: reading over a fancy brunch and museum over painting pottery?! She seems so mature!

    -Allison
    http://www.AllisonsDeliciousLife.com

    • June 24, 2011 8:06 pm

      She’s too funny– when I lived at home, we used to go to museums all the time! I’m glad she still loves to go.

Leave a Reply

