Skip to content

A Quick Breakfast, A Hike, and a Not-So-Quick Breakfast

May 19, 2011

If you’ve read my blog for a while, you might’ve picked up on the fact that breakfast is my favorite meal of the day (probably from the ridiculous amount of times I post oatmeal?). No? Well here are two more to pile on to the list: a healthy egg and English muffin sandwich (no scary Egg McMuffin patty in sight) and a breakfast pizza.

Yeah.. I was in a savory breakfast mood this week.

On Sunday I hiked to the Hollywood sign, which is about a 2-hour hike round trip if you take the long way to the back of the sign.

See the sign wayyyy in the background? This was actually taken from a roof a ways away, but you can get a good idea of how high it is. 🙂

But before the hike, I needed some fuel. Some good carbs, some good protein, and…. well, maybe some cheese, too.

CHOMP!

Healthy Egg McMuffin

serves one

  • 1 whole wheat English muffin
  • 1 egg
  • 1 slice nitrate-free ham
  • 1 slice Gouda cheese
  1. If the Gouda doesn’t come in slices, slice it first and set it aside. You’ll want it quickly towards the end. Scramble the egg and spray some olive oil in a non-stick pan. Heat the pan to medium so it will heat up a bit.
  2. Toast the English muffin still whole, so the outside is crispy and the insides are hot and doughy-soft.
  3. While the muffin is toasting, place the scrambled egg in the pan and allow to cook fully on one side. Flip and remove as soon as other side has cooked. Set aside.
  4. Lower heat to low. Place the slice of ham on the skillet and let it brown slightly on one side. The muffin should be done by now, so take it out and separate the halves. Fold the egg onto the muffin like you would deli meat and place the slice of cheese on top. Flip the ham and lightly brown the other side. Remove and immediately place over the cheese (so it melts!). Place other half of English muffin on top.

The hike to the top of the Hollywood sign isn’t a tough one, but it’s definitely long. The views, though, are totally worth it. Especially on a day as clear as last Sunday. You could see all the way to the Pacific Ocean!

See the ocean right at the horizon?

The back of the Hollywood sign! One thing I love about rain in L.A. is that everything gets so green afterward. After a long drought, the photo above would have noticeable smog and a lot of that green would be brown. 😦

Green things aside, though, we ARE in the middle of L.A. so of course you have something like this right next to you at the top…

On the other side of the peak is Burbank and the rest of the San Fernando Valley. I could probably see my office if I looked hard enough. I love that L.A. has mountains as part of its landscape– I never had that in Florida!

When I came home, my knee was bothering me a bit, so I decided to break in my bag of frozen blueberries. They’re good for you for more reasons than you thought. 🙂

And now… the not-so-quick breakfast.

PIZZA.

To speed up the amount of time it takes to make this, I actually made most of it the night before. Come morning, all I had to do was preheat the oven while I brushed my teeth, crack a couple eggs on top, and let it bake while I finished getting ready.

The eggs are cracked, yolks spread, and the pizza is ready to bake up in the oven…

I’m really paranoid about breathing near an open gas oven, so I was definitely holding my breath when I took this. Go ahead. Call me crazy.

Done!!

Ricotta and Spinach Breakfast Pizza

serves 3-4

  • 1 batch of whole wheat pizza dough (about 16 oz)
  • 2/3 c fat free or part skim ricotta cheese
  • 1 c frozen chopped spinach
  • 2 eggs
  • mixed seasoning
  • a couple pinches of salt
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees if you’re not refrigerating the pizza overnight.
  2. Set the dough on a floured surface to rise for 20-30 minutes. When done, stretch over the floured surface, using a rolling pin if you like. I like my pizza’s shape to be imperfect and non-uniform, so I used my hands.
  3. Spray a pan with olive oil and place the flattened dough onto the pan. With a butter knife or rubber spatula, spread the ricotta onto the dough (use more than the 2/3 if you find it isn’t covering the dough as much as you’d like). Sprinkle desired amount of mixed seasoning on top. Place the frozen spinach on top. This is the point where I would refrigerate it overnight.
  4. Crack the eggs toward the middle and pierce yolked with a fork. Use the back of the fork to spread the eggs evenly around the pizza. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until eggs are no longer runny.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 7:36 am

    That’s an awesome view!

    That pizza looks incredible. I’m definitely going to try it out! Do you buy pre-made crust?

Leave a Reply

