Skip to content

Plenty of Pr-oat-ein

April 29, 2011

Since I’ve cut down on meat (not that I plan on going vegetarian any time soon… but I like the idea of not depending on it for every meal), getting enough protein in my diet is a concern.

Enter the Pr-oat-ein Oats!

This morning I made some chocolate and strawberry oats using chocolate protein powder and some unsweetened cocoa powder for an extra kick of chocolate.

There was just enough sweetness from the protein powder to keep the unsweetened cocoa powder from being bitter, and it didn’t hurt that the strawberries were at their peak in ripeness. They were so sweet.

I also topped it with some honey almond butter and vanilla flax oatmeal from the Whole Foods bulk section.

Chocolate Pr-oat-ein Oats

serves one

  • 1/3 c oat bran
  • 1/3 c skim milk (or non-dairy milk)
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate whey protein powder (opt for soy, rice, or hemp to make it vegan)
  • 1/2 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • your choice in toppings
  1. Nuke the oat bran with 3/4 c water for 2 1/2 minutes. Remove and stir in milk gradually– you may find you like the consistency with less milk.
  2. Mix in the chocolate protein powder, cocoa powder, and cinnamon. Top with whatever you want!
I’m off to a DVR-ed Royal Wedding Party tonight (sorry, my REM cycle takes precedence over ANYONE’S nuptials), and then I’m spending my entire Saturday on a beach. I already purchased a ridiculous princess hat and tiara for tonight.

You probably won’t hear from me until Sunday, so enjoy your weekends!

Any big plans?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Phil permalink
    April 30, 2011 3:38 pm

    You rarely see one oat by itself.

Leave a Reply

