Skip to content

I need to buy groceries. Badly.

April 28, 2011

I go to the grocery store at least once a week, without fail. So when I do things like, say, go to Tampa for a weekend, I miss my opportunity to do actual shopping.

I had to settle with a 5 minute in-and-out trip on Monday to grab the essentials, which apparently meant forgetting a lot of things that really were essential and buying strawberries because they looked pretty.

As the week’s been winding down, my food has been getting more… creative… as I have less and less to choose from.

For breakfast I made egg cups with leftover won ton wrappers from a failed recipe, my last two eggs (one of the many things I forgot at the grocery store), and leftover pancetta from the green beans I made before going out of town.

(Again, sorry for the crappy photos, my dad says my camera is in the mail!)

The sushi plates were a gift from my best friend, Anna Banana. 🙂

The egg cups were perfect for a weekday breakfast, because you can make it all the night before!

I lined a cupcake pan with 2 won ton wrappers the night before, dropped in an egg, topped it with a tablespoon of pancetta, and threw it (okay, gently placed it) in the fridge. When I got up in the morning, I preheated the oven while brushing my teeth and then baked it for 25 minutes while I got ready.

I topped them with about a tablespoon of light cheese and some salsa verde. I tried eating them with a fork, but that just wasn’t happening. Egg cups are definitely finger food, at least in my house. 😀

Lunch was even more… creative.

I had some frozen chicken patties, some leftover black beans from a dull attempt at a Cuban stir fry the day before, and some fresh spinach and carrots.

So I put it all in one bowl.

It’s kind of a mess. It has the following in it: 2 big handfuls of spinach, 1 handful of shredded carrots, 1/4 c black beans, 1 chili lime chicken burger from Trader Joe’s, nutritional yeast, and some salsa verde (my new obsession).

Was it the most exciting lunch? No. Did it taste good and satisfy my appetite? Absolutely. I’m hooked on the cheesy flavor of nutritional yeast, and it worked really well with the salsa.

But on the bright side, those strawberries that I bought because they were “pretty” also turned out to be sweet, juicy, and all-around delicious, too.

And lastly, a public service announcement.

See those bags of greens at the store that say “Pre-Washed! Ready to Eat!”?

Look what I found in my “pre-washed” bag of spinach from Trader Joe’s. And yes, it was still alive and crawling all over the place.

TRESPASSER!!!

Moral of the story: wash everything.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Phil permalink
    April 28, 2011 5:58 pm

    Do you ever sit there and eat spinach leaves right from the bag with no dressing or anything and think, “I feel like a gorilla eating these leaves!” ??

    • April 29, 2011 5:35 pm

      I wonder if that’s exactly what the ladybug was thinking…

  2. Phil permalink
    April 29, 2011 8:04 pm

    Ha ha.. Maybe thats what gorillas think too. Some activities make men “feel like a man”, and some activities make women, “feel like a woman”. Maybe gorillas eat leaves and think, “damn, I really feel like a gorilla!”

Leave a Reply

