Skip to content

Sprinting, Working Out When Packing Light, and Losing Things

April 26, 2011

I made the most delicious pizza for breakfast this morning.

It had a dense, doughy whole wheat crust.

And creamy, yet fat-free ricotta cheese.

And chopped asparagus spears.

And two eggs with pierced yolks baked on top.

When it was finished, I took out the piping hot pizza from the oven, set it aside, laid out a pretty linen to use as a photo background, and went to my room to grab my camera…

… and realized I left it in Tampa. 

Disappointed face:

 

My dad’s mailing it back to me, and I’ll be using my crappy phone camera in the meantime. My room mate was using my phone to talk to the AT&T service people today, which means there is no picture of the glorious pizza.

But that just means I’ll need to make it again.

Which I’m totally okay with.

And in case you’re a visual person, it looked something like this (not my picture, obviously), but square, big enough for just 2 people, and had two eggs on it:

Source.

Run Forrest Run!! 

At the request of one of my readers, I’m going to post the sprint workout that I did a couple of weekends ago. It’s nothing too hardcore, but it was enough to make my legs a little sore the next day. Keep in mind that when you do sprint intervals, you don’t need to run as far.

  1. Jog for a mile to warm up. If you don’t run regularly, warm up for 1/4 – 1/2 mile so you aren’t dead tired when it comes time to sprint.
  2. Sprint for 30 seconds, walk for 1 1/2 minutes. Repeat for one mile. The best way I measure this is by jogging 1 mile in one direction and then doing sprint intervals for the rest of the way back. If you feel like you need more than 1 1/2 minutes to rest, then definitely take it.
What is sprinting?

Sprinting is the highest level of running you can handle. I measure intensity by how much I can talk during exercise. Walking = full conversation. Jogging = sentences at a time. Running = a few words at a time. Sprinting = don’t even try talking to me. If you’re sprinting, your entire body and mind should be consumed with it. In terms of intensity, jogging should feel like you’re being chased by a toddler. Sprinting should feel like you’re being chased by the boogeyman.

Working Out When You Pack Light

Since I was only home from Friday-Monday, I thought it’d be pretty absurd to pay to check a bag. But if you’re at all like me, the thought of squeezing everything into a carry-on bag even for a few days is still pretty daunting. But I did it anyway, only bringing sandals, one nice pair of shoes, and I skimped on workout stuff.

Instead of running shoes and a few workout outfits, I brought a swimsuit and only one sports bra and one pair of workout shorts. I swam laps on Friday, rested Saturday (hey, I’m on vacation!), and did a simple circuit workout on Sunday… that ended up kicking my butt. Here it is, named for the fact that no one in my parents’ house was aware that I even exercised in the guest room on Sunday:

Brittany’s Secret Spare-Room Workout

repeat whole circuit for 3 sets (whether or not you rest in between sets depends on how you feel, but try not to rest in the middle of a set)

  • 20 burpees
  • 30 second plank
  • 15 leg reaches (lay flat, arms straight over your head, lift right arm and right leg and touch the two, repeat with left) on each side
  • 20 scissors (click for video instruction)
  • 5 leg lowers (lower both legs at same time for 10 seconds, hold just above ground for 10 seconds, rest– that’s one)
  • 30 second boat pose hold (picture)– bend knees for easier version
  • 25 slow crunches (crunch up, hold for 2 seconds, lower down)
  • 20 slow crunches to each side
  • 20 squats (I also lifted a 10 lb weight to work my triceps with each squat)
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Phil permalink
    April 26, 2011 6:09 pm

    Thanks for posting the sprint workout. I should sprint more, but living in Tampa, its so hot most of the year that I cant resist running indoors on a treadmill. Even though some treadmills can go very fast, half the point of sprinting is the acceleration at the start and you cant get that on a treadmill.

    I like a lot of different types of workouts. Kettlebell is the best workout for building strength, and BOSU ball is the most fun without actually playing a sport.

    • April 27, 2011 10:32 am

      Although I feel like humidity in Florida is at its worst in the morning, the heat isn’t as bad. If I run outdoors when I’m home, I’ll usually do it then.

      And the bosu ball is great! I stand on it to do squats with weights and hold on to it for pushups.

      • Phil permalink
        April 27, 2011 7:45 pm

        Ive done both of those on the BOSU ball, but its the bouncy stuff thats fun. 🙂

      • April 28, 2011 1:44 pm

        I’ll have to look a few up, sounds fun!

Leave a Reply

