Skip to content

Being Proud of the Everyday Great

April 20, 2011

I was so proud of myself for finishing my first 5K.

That also happened to include mud, obstacles, and such.

I was really proud of myself for losing weight– the healthy, slow, permanent, and (sometimes) hard way.

I’m proud of myself for taking a chance and leaving everything I knew behind to move to Los Angeles.

But sometimes, I forget to be proud of the everyday things.

  • I’m proud of myself for not making excuses to not go to the gym.

And going all out with my trainer on Monday, despite being a little sore from Sunday’s sprints.

And doing 30 minutes of cardio intervals and some abs on Tuesday.

And, after a heck of a work day, pushed through a spinning class today.

I’m beat, I’m sore, and I can’t really peel myself off the couch just yet, but I did it.

  • I’m proud of getting up early enough every day to make myself a delicious, filling breakfast.

And making the most mouth-watering oatmeal with fruit, yogurt, granola, and chocolate hazelnut butter.

So good I made it two days in a row (I had to finish the Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter packet, of course).

Banana Raspberry Oats

makes one serving

  • 1/3 c oat bran
  • 3/4 c water
  • 1/2 c nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1 T honey
  • 1/2 c raspberries, mashed
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1 capful vanilla extract
  1. Nuke the oat bran and water for 2 1/2 minutes. Remove and stir.
  2. Mix in remaining ingredients. Throw on your favorite toppings! I used 1 tablespoon of Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter (or half a packet) and a small handful of vanilla granola from the Whole Foods bulk section.
When I feel a little more tired at the end of the day, or I feel a little overwhelmed, it’s nice to take a moment and be proud of the things I accomplish.
  • I have a great job.
  • I work my butt off at the gym. And I always leave with a smile on my face– not because I’m burning calories (okay, that helps), but because I had fun.
  • I’m a pretty handy lady in the kitchen.
  • I take charge of my life by taking charge of my health.

And that’s worth being proud of, isn’t it?

What about you? What are some of the everyday things you accomplish that you’re proud of?

I’m heading to Tampa tomorrow night (eek… a redeye flight) to spend Easter weekend with my family. But stay tuned for a post on how to get away with eating a whoopie pie for breakfast. 🙂

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    April 20, 2011 11:05 pm

    I love your blog. Great post. I need to take a step back and think of what I’m proud of; how sad, I should always know!

    • April 22, 2011 10:05 am

      It’s a good way to give yourself a pat on the back! 🙂

  2. April 21, 2011 10:54 pm

    neat post idea. love the positive thinking 🙂

  3. April 22, 2011 9:58 am

    I love this! Congratulations on completing your first (of many I’m sure) 5ks! You should be proud.. you work hard and you can see it in your before + after photo!

    I’m proud of taking charge of my health as well. No one in my family really takes care of themselves, but I’m hoping I will rub off in them in some way so they make changes to their own health.

    • April 22, 2011 10:06 am

      Being healthy will definitely catch on! People in my family have picked up tips from me here and there, too. Keep up the great work!

  4. Phil permalink
    April 24, 2011 4:57 pm

    Can you tell us your sprint workout?

Trackbacks

  1. A Savory Take on Oats « Pretty Fit, Pretty Healthy, Pretty Happy

Leave a Reply

