Skip to content

Thinking About the Cow

April 19, 2011

I watched a documentary over the weekend. Perhaps you’ve heard of it?

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not always vigilant about buying organic or grass-fed meat. I sometimes put more emphasis on price than real value.

Never again.

If ever you needed a few good reasons as to why buying local, grass fed meat and non-GMO produce and meat, this docu will give you enough to keep you far, far away from “conventional” meat and produce.

The documentary isn’t an attack on meat– far from it. It’s an attack on our food system: how corporations make the rules, how we can’t just rely on government agencies to decide what’s safe/healthy, and how ethics have taken a back seat when it comes to our food.

In short, Food Inc. makes you think beyond the steak sitting on your plate.

It makes you think about the cow.

It makes you think about the factory workers.

It makes you think about the farmers.

For for information on Food Inc. and what you can do to help change the way our food system works, click here to visit their Web site.

Now regardless of the documentary not attacking the idea of eating meat, I haven’t been able to cook meat– grass-fed or otherwise– since watching it on Saturday.

And while I don’t think I could ever give up eating meat permanently (I love chicken and seafood, and even red meat, as much as the next omnivore), it made me realize how many different ways you could make a meal without touching meat.

I picked up lunch at Erewhon (a health food store), and I opted for roasted brussels sprouts with red onions and sun dried tomatoes and some curried chickpeas:

For breakfast on Monday morning, I had a thick slice of whole wheat bread with almond butter, Trader Joe’s Mango butter, some sliced raspberries, and a sprinkling of chia seeds (good source of fiber, healthy fat, and calcium).

I also had some Siggi’s drinkable yogurt, which I found at Whole Foods over the weekend. It’s only 60 calories for the little bottle, and it tastes like fruity Greek yogurt (but not very sweet at all, so it might not be your thing). They get their milk from grass-fed cows, and the ingredients aren’t scary-sounding.

Take a look for yourself (sorry for the blurry photos):

For lunch at work, I packed a kale salad topped with tempeh that was brushed with peanut sauce and browned.

I used Trader Joe’s Satay Peanut Sauce. So. Good.

For the kale salad, I massaged juice from 1/4 of a lemon and a few sprays of the olive oil into the kale leaves.

The tempeh was delicious, but I need to come up with a simple dressing for the kale that packs a bigger flavor punch. The lemon juice + olive oil left a bit to be desired.

Have you ever made a salad with kale? What did you use?

Chris and I worked on another food photography project over the weekend, so stay tuned for the photos this week!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 2:39 pm

    All your food looks great! When I make kale salads I add lemon juice, olive oil and chili powder and it’s simple, but really good.

    • April 20, 2011 8:49 pm

      I didn’t think of chili powder, I’ll try that next time. Thanks!

  2. April 19, 2011 8:35 pm

    I haven’t eaten chicken since watching Food, Inc. It’s a great film!

    • April 20, 2011 8:48 pm

      Agreed! So well done, and I still haven’t been able to cook meat. I’ll get there, just not yet. šŸ™‚

  3. April 20, 2011 4:26 pm

    I saw drinkable Siggi at WF this weekend too and I almost bought it! How was it?

    • April 20, 2011 8:48 pm

      It was good! It tastes just like Greek yogurt with a hint of fruit. It says there’s agave in it, but I didn’t taste much sweetness.

  4. Phil permalink
    April 24, 2011 6:18 pm

    I havent eaten a cow in 11 years. Good for you for eating healthy.

Leave a Reply

