Skip to content

Purple Smoothies and Chugging H2O

April 15, 2011

Eating a smoothie for breakfast is like drinking dessert.

Or if you make it extra thick and put it in a bowl… like eating dessert.

I’ve made a doughy smoothie before (ala Kath Eats Real Food), and it’s so yummy that it’s worth repeating and trying in different flavors.

This time I made a blueberry version that turned the smoothie into a pretty shade of purple.

For toppings I used half a packet of Justin’s Maple Almond Butter and a small handful of raw rolled oats. I like the texture it added.

See how thick the smoothie is? It’s like eating a bowl of melty, fruity ice cream for breakfast. Except… it’s healthy and has zero added sugar (minus the maple in the maple almond butter, but that’s pretty minimal).

Blueberry Doughy Smoothie

Adapted from here.

Serves one.

  • 1/2 c quick-cooking rolled oats
  • 3/4 c skim milk
  • 1 capful of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 c blueberries
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 5-6 small ice cubes made from coconut water
Prep the night before:
  1. Fill an ice tray with coconut water.
  2. Mix in a container the oats, milk, vanilla, and cinnamon. Seal the container and refrigerate overnight.
  3. Chop half a banana and put in the freezer.
In the morning:
  1. Puree the frozen banana slices first. Once pureed, add in the blueberries, oats mixture, and coconut water ice cubes.
Other ideas for toppings and/or mix-ins: granola, chia seeds, vanilla protein powder, shredded coconut, Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter (I just thought of this one… and now I HAVE to try it)

The Water Problem

Water is one of the most important things you can feed your body. It helps keep you from getting sick, can help you keep off weight, and keeps your skin hydrated and youthful. But it’s also the hardest part of my healthy diet to get enough of!

Most days, I have to consciously make sure I down enough water. I’ll sometimes pass through most of my workday before I realize I’ve only taken a few sips from my water bottle!

For the past couple of months, I haven’t been very good about getting in my daily 8 glasses. 😦

Lately, though, I’ve been working out a system that’s worked so far. I’ll AT LEAST squeeze in six glasses of water.

Here’s what I’ve been doing to try to spread out my water intake throughout the day:

Morning: I sip on water out of this during my commute to work. Providing I don’t forget it on the table (happened once this week). = 2 glasses of H2O

Thanks for being a guard dog, Dakota. πŸ˜€

At Work: I sip out of this giant thing throughout the day. Sometimes I end up chugging half of it if I see I haven’t been drinking much water. Or I make a ridiculously spicy lunch (which happens often). = 4 glasses of H2O

Evening: Most days, I manage to polish this off at the gym. If there’s any left over, I’ll make a point to drink the rest at home. = 2 glasses of H2O

This system’s worked pretty well for me, but it’s not like there isn’t room for improvement. Honestly, I don’t really enjoy drinking water. I just drink it because I’m not a huge juice person, I don’t really drink milk straight, and I think soda is gross (unless there’s a little vodka in it to drown out the taste πŸ™‚ ).

And if I just drank coffee all the time… I’d be a raging psychopath. I also think my kidneys would terminate their employment.

What are some of the ways you get YOUR 8 glasses in?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

