Skip to content

The Easiest Curry You’ll Ever Make

April 14, 2011
tags: ,

I have all this gnocchi in my fridge, but I’m not really in the mood for Italian.

I know, being sick of Italian… that ACTUALLY happens to people. But I hate for food to go to waste, so I decided to try gnocchi with something new.

I looked through my fridge and freezer and worked my creative juices.

My inner monologue:

“Oh… 3 bags of frozen veggies. Maybe I’ll make a dent in those.”

“Red curry sauce. Haven’t used that in a while.”

“That tomato sauce is about to go bad. Oops.”

“Don’t I have lentils around here somewhere? Here they are… buried under two bags of brown rice.”

“Curried lentils with mixed vegetables and gnocchi. DONE.”

Now, to get to work.

First, I defrosted and heated up the vegetables and cooked the lentils. And then I threw them together in a mixing bowl.

Next came the whole wheat gnocchi. I love how fast gnocchi cooks. 🙂

While the gnocchi cooked, I quickly whipped together the curry sauce. It was one part Trader Joe’s Red Curry Sauce, two parts plain tomato sauce, and a dash of sriracha.

Once the gnocchi was finished, in it went with lentils and veggies.

Curry sauce mixture on top!

Slowly fold in the sauce with the veggies, lentils, and gnocchi using a rubber spatula.

Packed and ready to be devoured at lunch!

This lunch was absolutely delicious. It was one of those lunches where I had a silly smile on my face the entire time I ate it, and it was extremely easy to make!

Curried Lentils and Gnocchi

Serves one.

  • 3/4 c whole wheat gnocchi, uncooked
  • 1/4 c lentils, dry
  • 1 c frozen (or fresh! even better!) mixed vegetables
  • 1/4 c Trader Joe’s Red Curry Sauce
  • 1/2 c tomato sauce
  • dash of sriracha, optional
  1. Cook the lentils in at least 1 cup of water. Bring to a boil and then reduce to medium-low heat. Allow to simmer for about 15 minutes.
  2. Steam fresh or frozen vegetables (or just nuke the frozen vegetables) and set aside.
  3. Once lentils and vegetables are done, set both aside in a mixing bowl. Rinse out the pot to use for gnocchi.
  4. Mix together the red curry sauce, tomato sauce, and sriracha. Set aside.
  5. Put the gnocchi into the pot and fill with enough water so the gnocchi are generously covered. Boil until gnocchi have floated to the top. Drain and add gnocchi to the mixing bowl.
  6. Pour the curry sauce mixture over the gnocchi, lentils, and vegetables and gently mix together until completely incorporated.

Coming up tomorrow…

A purple, dough-y smoothie in a bowl. 😀

Leave a Reply

