Skip to content

Dashin’ Like a Warrior

April 4, 2011

Yesterday was race day!

I ran/climbed/swam/jumped/crawled the Warrior Dash in Lake Elsinore with these two guys: Chris and Chris.

The Chris on the right is the one who takes all the awesome food photos. 😀

We signed up for the 12:30 wave but got there over an hour before. So, much to the chagrin of Chris and Chris, it meant that it was time to take pictures. Sorry, guys.

I wore the leggings I wore to the Down ‘N Dirty Mud Run the year before, since they already had a hole in them from when I dove into the mud and befriended a rock with my knee.

But if you think diving onto a rock hurts, then you’ll really feel bad for Chris.

He rode his bike to an ATM this morning, and he got hit by a car. And he STILL RACED.

WARRIOR!!!!

The driver sped off (JERK!), but Chris was fine, minus a bruised hip and a few scratches.

The hats they gave out didn’t fit my head. They were one-size-fits-all, so it was even funnier when I saw that grown men could wear them. It appears I have a really, really big head.

RAAAAAWRRRRR!!!!!

Can you see the giant tent shaped like a Viking helmet? Kind of awesome.

A lot of people came in costumes! I opted out this year, but we came up with a few ideas for next year. 😀

We saw two girls dressed up like they were in Black Swan, a pair of Smurfs, a Teletubby, the Easter Bunny, a guy attached to a stuffed horse, a guy dressed like an old man– complete with an IV bag attached to a cane. So amazing.

I snuck a couple pictures. Sorry they’re blurry, I tried to be sneaky.

This guy was talking on his phone when I caught a photo. He wore nothing but a patriotic Speedo and a mullet. The best part was watching him figure out where to put his race bib. It went on his butt. Also… he was about 6’6″. And foxy. 😀

And then the Hulk. He used some kind of latex paint, because it was peeling off in huge strips by the end of the race. I can’t imagine sweating through a race with all that paint on!

I didn’t get any race pictures (they took professional shots that I’ll try to post after they send them to me), since I was crawling through mud and water, but here are a few– post-race and post-dip-in-the-lake.

Tired. Exhausted. Starving. DONE!!

It’s very important after every hard workout to refuel with protein and carbs…

I mean… I was hungry. And they had free beer. And TURKEY LEGS. Who am I to say no to turkey legs at a race with a Viking theme?

And who is Chris to say no?

And the other Chris got HIT BY A CAR this morning. Who is HE to say no to turkey legs??

The drive back was probably the hardest part– I was so exhausted. But I made it home with this little guy…

And I decided that I earned the right to be a couch potato for the rest of the day. Aside from doing laundry. And washing dishes. And tidying up my apartment. And making dinner.

Life doesn’t stop. Not even for warriors. 🙂

Sidenote: If you’re looking for a good song to add to your workout playlist, one of the Chris’s added this song to our Amp Up For Warrior Dash Mix. It sounds like something we’d work out to in kickboxing. But you might want to put some headphones on if you’re at work… or around kids.

“The Basics (Alright)”- P.O.S.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2011 9:47 am

    That race looks awesome!
    I was thinking about doing it when its in Seattle in July – I guess I better start training! 🙂

    • April 10, 2011 11:39 am

      You definitely should! The most important thing to work on is endurance. It gets really tiring having to run after doing all those obstacle courses, but the good news is that it’s only a 5k!

Leave a Reply

