Skip to content

Chocolate-Covered Banana

March 31, 2011

Remember how I said yesterday that I couldn’t just post pictures of oats every day?

I lied.

I picked up a couple things at Target yesterday and made a detour through the grocery section, and to my astonishment, I found a row of these:

Hello, kryptonite.

If you haven’t heard of Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter, it’s basically Nutella without the hard-to-read ingredients. And the dash of sea salt makes my mouth water. 😀

I used a drizzle of it this morning over some banana oats and sprinkled some chocolate hazelnut biscotti granola that I also got at Target.

Target, you fancy huh?

Chocolate-Covered Banana Oats

makes one serving

  • 1/3 c oat bran
  • 3/4 c water
  • 3/4 c skim milk, divided
  • capful vanilla extract
  • cinnamon to taste
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1 tablespoon chocolate hazelnut butter (or Nutella)
  • 1/4 c granola, optional
  1. Mix water and oats in a larger microwave-safe bowl for 2 1/2 minutes. Oat bran tends to expand, so watch it to make sure it doesn’t spill out– you’d be surprised how much it expands.
  2. Remove from microwave and stir in 1/3 c water, cinnamon, vanilla extract, and mashed up banana until mixed well. Microwave for another 45 seconds.
  3. Remove from microwave and drizzle the chocolate hazelnut butter, sprinkle the granola, and pour in the remaining 1/2 c of skim milk.

After enjoying a nice, relaxing breakfast at home, I came into a storm at work. So I basically ate my lunch on top of various office supplies. VERY glad I packed a lunch last night instead of having to pick something up today.

I call this: “Spinach Salad Eaten Atop a Binder”

spinach + turkey + carrots + mixed berries + Trader Joe’s Champagne Pear vinaigrette (my FAVORITE salad dressing!)

And I call this “Buttered Ezekiel Toast Eaten on Top of an E-mail”

I ate everything pretty quickly and went back to work. I prefer to chill out and enjoy my meals, but there are times when you don’t have a choice but to shovel. Today required shoveling.

Tomorrow, keep an eye out for more photos from my friend, Chris!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeannie permalink
    April 8, 2011 5:17 pm

    Those banana oat things look amazing, Brit!!!

Leave a Reply

