Skip to content

Seeing Green and Counting (Burned) Calories

March 30, 2011

Ever used Glamour magazine’s calorie counter? It’s pretty terrific.

You put in your weight, the kind of exercise you did, and the duration, and it gives you an approximate amount of calories that you burned (it doesn’t take into account age or body fat percentage, so I’d use the amount as a rough estimate rather than an exact science).

I took kickboxing last night and burned more than 600 calories! And it definitely felt like it. I sweat more than I’ve ever sweat and…

I might have thrown up in my mouth.

TMI.

I’m sorry.

Last night was DJ’s last Tuesday teaching our kickboxing class, and I’m kind of sad about it. I’ve been taking his class for over a year now– and I’ve yet to go to one class and not leave exhilarated yet kind of wanting to keel over and die. A strange mix, but he does it.

He’s still teaching on Saturdays, so I’ll have to give up a day outdoors to take his class. DJ’s kickboxing class > sunshine.

But waking up this morning, I feel a little worn out. I need potassium. I need iron. I need protein.

There are only so many days in a row I can show you pictures of oatmeal (though trust me, I’d eat it for every meal if it wouldn’t get weird), so I’m mixing things up.

In my blender. And I’m seeing green.

It was my first time making a smoothie using spinach, and I was surprised how good it was!

If you’ve never had a smoothie with spinach before, you’re probably thinking, “Doesn’t that taste like you threw spinach into a fruit salad?” But it doesn’t. At all. I put so many other ingredients in the smoothie that I couldn’t taste the spinach.

Something I usually put in smoothies, as many people do: ice.

But these ice cubes weren’t made of plain water. They were made from…

The coconut water gave it a little extra sweetness as well as an extra potassium boost for my muscles— which are killing me today. I need all the boosts I can get.

Because I didn’t really put any liquids into the smoothie, it came out really thick. I ate it out of a bowl, like Kath from Kath Eats Real Food often does.

Toppings: uncooked rolled oats + mixed berries and nuts


Eating smoothies with a spoon is like eating dessert for breakfast. See how thick it is?? 😀

I think I’ll call it the Popeye Smoothie, since it’s got spinach.

The Popeye Smoothie

makes one serving

  • 1/3 c non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 medium frozen banana
  • 1/4 c applesauce, preferably the no-sugar-added type
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder (I use whey)
  • 4 coconut water ice cubes (3 if your ice trays make large cubes)
  • handful of spinach (about 3/4 cup)

Blend everything in your blender or food processor. I pureed the banana first, then added the rest in.

All that protein in the smoothie kept me full until lunch time. And things only got better.

Ever been to Pitfire Pizza?

Ever been to Pitfire Pizza and DIDN’T get pizza?

I have. Today I got the Farmer’s Market Plate.

seasonal roasted veggies + whipped ricotta cheese + oven-fired bread

Look at all the colors!! 🙂

BUT WHY’S THE RUM LUNCH GONE?

By the way, this is the nut/berry mix I mentioned yesterday but couldn’t remember the name of it. And now it’s empty. 😦

I may take tonight off from the gym. I was a little sore from P90x on Sunday. Then I was a little more sore from Erika on Monday. And now I’m limping from kickboxing on Tuesday. Tonight I may have a date with my couch, a few DV-R’ed shows, a banana and almond butter sandwich, and a little dog who won’t get to eat any of it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 12:50 pm

    I’ve been seeing coconut water everywhere but haven’t tried it. Sounds like a great addition to your smoothie! I’ll need to pick some up…

    • March 31, 2011 4:04 pm

      It’s great! I like Taste Nirvana the best, because it’s somehow sweeter but with less sugar than other brands.

Leave a Reply

