Skip to content

The Oats Are Drowning Everything!

March 29, 2011

I’ve been using oat bran for the past couple of months, so I thought I’d change to some different oats for a while. I’m switching things up. I’m SUCH A REBEL. 🙂

I have time to mix a few ingredients together and bake them while I get ready. I have time to whisk a couple eggs and cook them on a skillet for a couple of minutes. But one thing I do NOT have time for before work is to cook oats over the stove.

So when it comes to oatmeal, the microwave is my buddy. And it’s always worked well when I use oat bran and follow package directions. Really well, actually.

Quick rolled oats? Well, you’ll see.

cocoa + strawberry oats

Not so bad right?

How about a closer view. In which THE ALMOND BUTTER IS DROWNING, which means they were way too watery.

Let’s go in even closer…

According to the package directions, you’re supposed to mix 1/2 cup of oats with 1 cup of water, which I did. And I got the above result. It was WAY more runny than I like my oats, but the tablespoon of cocoa mix, vanilla extract, strawberries, and almond butter saved it. Even if the oats did try to drown the almond butter. 😦

So this morning, I tried the quick rolled oats again, this time making up my OWN directions.

I was going to use a mashed up banana, but I think they need one more day to ripen. I see some green at the top still.

I mixed only 3/4 cup of milk (NO water) with 1/2 cup of oats, half a scoop of vanilla protein powder, half a capful of vanilla extract, and some cinnamon.

Much. Much. Better.

I topped it with almond butter, fig jam, and some mixed berries/nuts from Trader Joe’s (I forget which kind, but it’s got blueberries, cranberries, almonds, cashews, and walnuts).

Unrelated: I decided yesterday was “Bring Your Dog to Work” day.

I thought that I did a great job on her haircut. But as more and more time passes, I’m noticing bald patches, stray hairs, and more bald patches. I think I either need to invest in a cheap electric razor… or let a professional do it. No more scissors.

Poor Dakota.

What are some of the ways YOU cook rolled oats?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

