Skip to content

Missing London, Dodging London-ish Weather

March 27, 2011

The weather outside is abysmal! I haven’t seen real sunlight in days, and the rain’s as unpredictable as it was when I lived in Florida (except that usually happens when it’s WARM outside 😦 ).

I decided against a run today, since I’ve had a dull sting in my throat all week. Getting caught in a cold rainstorm would be a terrible idea. So the day went something like this instead…

While breakfast was baking, I did a little core yoga.

And what was baking, you ask?

Vegan Banana Bread, topped with SOFT SERVE BANANA!!!


The banana bread was so hot, the frozen banana puree melted right away. This beats topping it with syrup. Hot + cold melted together… to die for. πŸ˜€

The banana bread + frozen banana puree kept me full ’til 2:30!

While breakfast was settling, I did a little art project.

Some like to practice the art of bonzai on trees.

I like to practice it on Dakota.

I’m getting better at it! And I save at least 40 bucks every time I cut her hair vs. taking her somewhere. She’s a dog… her sense of style is pretty limited.

While lunch was baking, I did the P90X Cardio DVD. It kicked my butt. The guy’s a little cheesy, but the cardio DVD does a good job of skipping from one style to the next (a little yoga, a little kickboxing, a little jumping around… you get the picture).

For lunch, I had something I haven’t eaten since I lived in London.

A jacket potato!

A jacket potato is what they call baked potatoes in the UK. My favorite kind was topped with baked beans and a little white cheddar. Bloomsbury Deli, a sandwich place across from where I lived, made the BEST jacket potatoes.

It’s no secret that I miss London dearly. I spent my last semester in college there, and I’ve been dying to go back ever since. And as long as my work schedule stays how it is, I’ll be taking a trip there this summer!

But for now, I’ve got the jacket potato to bring me back. πŸ™‚

And Downton Abbey. If you haven’t yet seen it, you should! I love all BBC Masterpiece Theater, but this one might take the cake.

Despite only leaving the house for a quick trip to the grocery store (I needed an excuse to get quarters for laundry), I’ve actually been really busy today!

Stay tuned for photos of the cooking adventure Chris and I had yesterday!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 10:23 pm

    Random question… where did you get that place mat? I love it!

    • March 30, 2011 8:30 am

      Thanks! I got it at Target last weekend in the section they usually have their seasonal dining stuff. I’m sure they still have it!

Trackbacks

  1. Balls and Bread « Pretty Fit, Pretty Healthy, Pretty Happy
  2. A Savory Take on Oats « Pretty Fit, Pretty Healthy, Pretty Happy

Leave a Reply

