Skip to content

Food for Fun, Food for Fuel + Some News

March 26, 2011

Most of the time, I like to make food a fun experience. Eating is something we all NEED to do, so why not make it enjoyable?

Like overnight oats in an almost-empty jar of almond butter.

And when I brought them to work to eat for breakfast, I found someone had brought in fudge brownies. So I took a small slice, nuked it for a few seconds and put it on top. To me, chocolate is like having a drink; if you do it right, it’s acceptable at any time of day.

I hesitated to post this picture, because it wasn’t THAT pretty. But it’s of overnight oats topped with a piping hot slice of fudge brownie– and there’s nothing ugly about that. 😀

I met a friend for happy hour at Federal Bar in North Hollywood after work. I’m rarely out of work in time to enjoy happy hour, so it was a nice treat.

We started off with some rolls that tasted like buttery croissants, some herbed butter, and pickled vegetables that tasted like they were pickled in apple cider vinegar. Just the right amount of sweetness.

For dinner I had something I rarely eat– red meat. But every once in a while, a girl needs a burger. Or three small ones.

I got 3 bleu cheese-stuffed sliders that were served on the same kind of rolls we got with the herbed butter. They weren’t the best I’ve had– the meat was a little too well-done for my taste– but they were more than decent.

Not pictured: pinot noir. But you know what that looks like. Also, it was delicious.

But today I was so busy I only had time to eat for fuel. No time for fun!

I made a rice cake with almond butter before my run this morning, and then I had another rice cake with a mashed banana + honey afterward for some post-run potassium (no mid-grocery store sugar crash this time, I learned my lesson!).

I love how much creamier bananas as they continue to ripen. 🙂

For lunch I just threw a few things into a container from the Whole Foods hot bar, since I was already there.

I was pretty disappointed in their hot bar selection today. It was only 1pm and it looked like their lunch food was not as fresh as it could’ve been.

So I grabbed what looked decent: a teriyaki chicken breast, the LAST of the cabbage crunch salad, and some curried Israeli cous cous salad.

The cabbage salad– which usually comes in its own dressing– had nothing on it, so I sprinkled some lemon juice and apple cider vinegar. The acidity went well with the sweetness of the chicken and cous cous salad.

And now for the news:

I’m heading to cooking school!

Well, a cooking school of sorts. I’m taking a certificate course online, and all the courses are done through video. I have a full-time job that I love, but it doesn’t leave me much time to head to a brick-and-mortar school for hours every week.

I signed up for it at the end of last week and took a crack at the first few lessons on Monday. It’s way more intensive than I originally thought it’d be. The basics alone are going to take me weeks to get through!

Right now I’m still at the very beginning– I can now give the proper name for every knife in my kitchen, what their distinctive characteristics are, and what they’re used for– and I’m slowly working my way through. A lot of the basics are repetitive, but I’ve actually come across some tips I’d never thought of before, like using a food processor to make bread dough.

I’ll be talking about my cooking class a lot on here. In the meantime… time to take some more notes. 😀

Unrelated note: Do any of you read my blog from an iPad? My friend sent me what PF, PH, PH looks like on an iPad. I had no idea! He says you can turn pages on it like a book, too. So thanks for the awesome layout, WordPress. I didn’t even know my blog looked different on iPads.

Tomorrow won’t be nearly as busy, and I’m craving more vegan banana bread. This time… it’s getting a new topping! Hint: it’s an old favorite, and it’s cooooold. 😀

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2011 12:09 pm

    How exciting! Cooking school would be a blast – I’ve always thought so. And I think it’s wonderful that you can do these things at your convenience now. I’m taking an online class and the convenience is just immeasurable.

    I’m so excited for you!

    • March 27, 2011 5:31 pm

      Thank you! I’m pretty excited about it. I love to learn, so being able to do it in my spare time is going to be great.

      Good luck with your class!

Leave a Reply

