Skip to content

Shortcut Ciabatta… and Eating Potpourri

March 23, 2011

My favorite scent in the world is lavender. So calming, so fresh, so… delicious?

Yep, delicious, too.

I’ve heard about using lavender to cook in the past, so I decided to try my hand at it. I picked up some food-grade lavender at Whole Foods (very important to buy food-grade lavender, most plants use harmful pesticides that render the lavender inedible) and got to recipe searching.

I found a recipe from Hood River Lavender and did a little tweaking. Their recipe was for focaccia bread using pizza dough, but I double the dough amount and turned it into a dense ciabatta bread.

And in exchange for feeding him, my friend Chris did a little shooting. That’s why the photos look so much better than usual– Chris is actually a professional.

The recipes, to follow at the end of the post:

Lavender and Rosemary Ciabatta Bread

Prosciutto & Ricotta Sandwich with Fig Jam

For the bread, I first stretched the dough over a floured surface, placed it in a casserole dish, and brushed the top with olive oil.

Picking and chopping rosemary for the top.

Topping the bread:  Fresh rosemary,, chopped shallots, minced garlic…

and the lavender.

But wait! I forgot the sea salt! WHERE’S THE SEA SALT?!

I know, I’ll climb up on the counter and see if it fell in the back of the cabinet…

The bread, still warm. I wanted to eat the whole thing right then.

And next… the sandwich.

The ingredients: prosciutto, ricotta, fig jam, and arugula.

Mmmm… fig jam. 😀

The low-carb version. 🙂

La pièce de résistance…

Lavender and Rosemary Ciabatta Bread

adapted from here

  • 2 lbs whole wheat pizza dough
  • 1/4 c chopped shallots
  • 2 tsp dried lavender
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • olive oil, for brushing
  • freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. On a well-floured surface, stretch the dough to fit into a 9 x 13 rectangle. Place dough into 9 x 13 cake pan or casserole dish and make sure thickness is even throughout.
  2. Lightly brush the surface of the dough with olive oil and sprinkle the shallots, lavender, rosemary, and garlic on top. Press toppings in lightly, so they won’t fall off once the bread is baked. Sprinkle sea salt and pepper.
  3. Bake for 30 minutes, or until completely baked through.

Prosciutto & Ricotta Sandwich with Fig Jam

I guess this doesn’t really need a recipe! But here’s what I used and how much I used of it, per sandwich:

  • 2 slices prosciutto
  • 1 tablespoon fig jam
  • 1/4 c fat free ricotta cheese (found at Trader Joe’s! but part-skim ricotta works, too)
  • handful of arugula (the peppery taste of arugula went really well with the other flavors)
  • 1 piece of the lavender rosemary ciabatta bread, sliced in half (make sure you use a bread knife for this, the serrated edges keep the bread from from breaking as you slice it)

I’ve got a busy workday ahead of me, but I had a pretty amazing breakfast this morning, thanks to a recipe from another food/health blog. Recipe and pictures to come tomorrow!

Note: All photos were taken by Chris Godley. If you want to see more of his work, take a look at his Flickr, shoot him an e-mail, or catch him on Twitter.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 2:27 pm

    Oh my god. That looks so good. I had some fresh proscuito and fig jam on crispy bread like crackers when I took a food tour in Asheville, and it was effing incredible.
    I’m literally drooling right now looking at your pictures.

    • March 24, 2011 2:58 pm

      There’s GOT to be a food tour somewhere in L.A. I’m going to find it, and I’m going to go on it. 🙂
      Glad you liked the bread!!

Leave a Reply

