Skip to content

Omelette Fail, Scramble Win

March 22, 2011

I just couldn’t handle an omelette this morning. I tried, I really did.

I sliced up some onions and chopped my rosemary, and put them in these adorable little pinch bowls my mom got me for Christmas one year.

I wilted some fresh spinach with the onions and a little olive oil.

And then I poured the egg mixture with fresh rosemary and sea salt into the skillet.

Then all hell broke loose. I was promptly reminded of why I shouldn’t try new recipes on a weekday morning. And I was thankful my room mate wasn’t home, because she would’ve been woken up by a few choice expletives spoken at an unladylike volume.

I used too small of a skillet. I cooked the omelette too much before putting in the fillings. I can’t seem to wield a spatula without at least 6 ounces of coffee turning the cogs in my brain. They all added up to this:

The rosemary, spinach and ricotta scramble. The omelette ended when I started vigorously chopping (read: taking my anger out with a silicone spatula) and turned the whole thing into scrambled eggs.

And so while it didn’t look as pretty as I’d hoped, with its perfectly yellow exterior and cheesy, spinach center, it still tasted great.

I heated up some rosemary potatoes that I baked with red onions and avocado oil last night, and I added a rice cake with some jam to satisfy my sweet tooth. The giant Ravenclaw mug came to my rescue with a lovely 16 ounces of coffee.

If you’re wondering why some of the potatoes are blue, it’s because they’re, well, blue potatoes! I bought a mixed bunch of mini potatoes at Trader Joe’s, and I’m a fan. πŸ˜€

Omelette? Maybe next time.

If you want to make breakfast like mine (rage blackout aside), here are the recipes:

Baked Home “Fries”

makes 3 or 4 small servings

  • 6 mini potatoes, chopped (the smaller you chop them, the quicker they cook)
  • 1/4 red onion
  • 2 tablespoon avocado oil (olive oil works just fine)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh rosemary
  • sea salt, to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with foil.
  2. In a large Ziploc bag, throw in the potatoes, oil, and rosemary, seal, and mix well.
  3. Spread onto baking sheet and sprinkle with salt.
  4. Bake between 15-30 minutes, depending on how soft you want them and/or how small you chopped them

Rosemary, Spinach, and Ricotta Omelette SCRAMBLE

makes one serving

  • 2 eggs, scrambled
  • 1/4 cup fat free or part-skim ricotta cheese (Trader Joe’s has a fat free version that’s pretty tasty)
  • 1/4 onion, sliced thin
  • handful of fresh spinach
  • 1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, chopped
  • pinch of sea salt
  1. Add salt and rosemary to scrambled egg mixture, set aside.
  2. In a skillet, spray some olive oil and add the onions and spinach. Cook until spinach is wilted and set aside.
  3. Spray a bit more olive oil and pour in egg mixture, and then either:
    • Spread your toppings evenly on one side of the cooking omelette and fold over to disastrous results, and then get really angry and violently chop up everything in the skillet to resemble a scramble.

OR

    • Before eggs have a chance to cook, throw in the ricotta and spinach and continue to mix everything together as the eggs cook. Chop, scrape, fold, repeat.

Lunch was much less stressful, since it only involved a salad.

I threw together some spinach and arugula and topped it with shredded turkey, sliced almonds, and mixed dried berries. The dressing: Trader Joe’s Champagne Pear Vinaigrette.

And some Wheat Thins. Always some Wheat Thins.

I never get excited about eating salads. Ever. But once I actually start eating them, they’re delicious. Especially when I used the Champagne Pear Vinaigrette. So good.

And these little guys? New Trader Joe’s favorite. I topped mine with a teaspoon of Crofter’s jam for a snack.

My hips were SO SORE yesterday from Sunday’s treadmill extravaganza, but they’re much better today– thanks to a lot of stretching, a little massaging, and a nice rest day.

I think a little kickboxing is in the cards for tonight. πŸ˜€

Chris finished editing the photos from Saturday’s baking/photography adventure. The post should be up tomorrow! Be ready to be wow-ed. By the pictures, that is. Maybe by the food, too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

