Skip to content

Blueberry Batter for Breakfast

March 15, 2011
tags:

It’s been a while since I read other food blogs, but I’m slowly getting back into the swing of things!

When I was younger, my favorite part of helping my mom bake in the kitchen was licking the bowl. And the spoon. And the mixers. And anything else that had cake batter on it. That spatula? I’ll take that too. Same went with cookie dough. And raw cinnamon rolls. And biscuits. Basically, I was on the original raw food diet.

So when I saw a recipe for doughy cold oats from Kat at Kath Eats Real Food, I was pretty excited. I’d made something similar to it before, but for some reason, it came out so much better this time.

This time I used oat bran (ground up steel cut oats), but I think I’ll go back to rolled oats next time for a smoother texture. But other than that… success.

To start out, mix the following ingredient together in a blender or food chopper/processor (makes enough for one serving):

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 banana, chopped
  • small pinch of salt
  • 1/4 c green juice (like “Green Machine” from Naked Juice)

Pour it into a bowl/mug.

Cover and refrigerate it over night (yes, I used a plate… I’m real fancy).

And that’s it. It’s basically overnight oats, blended together. The sweetness from the banana, the juice, and the vanilla protein powder made it taste more like batter than the kind I’d made before.

When morning came, I took it out and threw a few blueberries in. It tasted like blueberry muffin batter. 🙂

And my very favorite mug with some black coffee…

Today’s breakfast was definitely yummy enough to be a repeat this week.

I’m taking the night off from the gym to head to a Noah and the Whale concert. Trainer Erika killed me last night, and today my arms, shoulders, abs, and hips are feeling it. Tomorrow’s another day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

