Skip to content

Teaching Mia to Eat Well

December 21, 2010

I’ve been terrible about posting lately. Between work, shuttling back and forth from Tampa and L.A., and lots of other really creative excuses I have that you don’t feel like reading, time’s been a little bit of an endangered species in my life. But here’s me trying to get better about that.

While I’m home over Christmas break, I decided to tackle Mia’s somewhat unsavory eating habits. She’s a kid, so naturally she wants things like ice cream for lunch and Oreos for dinner. So instead of teaching her that those things are “bad” to eat (because I tried that, and not only was that in vain… it was kind of stupid), I thought I’d teach her little by little that there are things that are both healthy and really, really yummy.

I’m watching her today while my mom’s at work, which means I’m in charge of feeding her. Me. The one who sometimes forgets she has a dog.

Never fear. We made protein smoothies for lunch!

Brittany and Mia’s Delicious Protein Smoothie

makes two servings

  • 1 c non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 3/4 c non-dairy milk (we actually used Rice Dream egg nog)
  • 1 c blueberries
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 1 heaping tablespoon almond butter
  • 8 ice cubes

Pour it all into the blender and let it whirr!

Mia hated the taste of Greek yogurt (baby steps with the healthy food), but she loved the smoothie. The blueberries gave it a little tartness, and the bananas sweetened it up enough where I didn’t have to add any sugar. The non-dairy egg nog probably helped too. Vanilla almond milk probably would’ve tasted good, too.

The best part is that it was 100% saturated fat free. The only fat came from the heart-healthy almond butter.

This was gone about 1 1/2 minutes after I took this picture…

And then Mia had a little too much fun with my Mac’s Photo Booth.

Me about to barf on the roller coaster, and Mia bringing her Wii remote for fun.

Photobomb.

Photobomb part deux.

Photobomb part troix. Godzilla goes to Paris edition.

We’ve got the world at our fingertips. GET IT? GET IT???? Okay, enough. I know.

That’s about it. I’m off to the dentist, and tomorrow?

I’M GETTING LASIK!!!!!

Hence the glasses today. I’ll be on various drugs and basically out of commission, so my vow to post more doesn’t count ’til after I’m off the pharmaceuticals.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

