Skip to content

“I’m thankful for pumpkin pie.”

November 26, 2010

Our family tradition on my mom’s side of the family is, before saying grace, to go around in a circle and say what we’re thankful for. Most said something along the lines of “health” and “family,” until it got to my little cousin Jake. He said, “I’m thankful for pumpkin pie. And, um, my family.”

I love kids’ honesty. You know everyone else at that table was thinking the same thing. Or at least I was.

My brother and I used to switch off years between my mom and dad for Thanksgiving (odd years with mom, even years with dad), but ever since I got my license it went unsaid that we would spend each Thanksgiving at both houses. Luckily, they changed around the eating schedule so it was a Thanksgiving lunch at my dad’s and a Thanksgiving dinner with my mom’s family.

I started my morning off with a quick jog around my mom’s neighborhood and some ab work back at the house. I tried to go as early as possible, but it was still in the 80s and humid. Welcome to Florida.

I bought my mom some gluten-free oats for her to try out, and I made a bowl for myself.

This one has:

  • 1/2 c oats, 1 c water, nuked for 2 minutes
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • capful vanilla
  • about a tablespoon of Justin’s Maple Almond Butter
  • 1-2 teaspoons black raspberry preserves
  • < 1/4 c pumpkin flax granola
  • 1 banana for a post-workout potassium boost
  • 1/4 c skim milk

It ended up being pretty heavy. I think next time I’ll take a few ingredients out.

And then I drank some pumpkin spice coffee (my step-dad is just as into flavored coffee as I am) in a new mug that I bought. Where I bought it will come in a later post πŸ™‚

I headed over to my dad’s house first, and my step-mom had QUITE the spread laid out already. Since I have to eat Thanksgiving twice, though, I make it a point to not feel Thanksgiving-stuffed at either house. So I only serve myself what I want the most, and only enough to get a good taste. But everything looked absolutely delicious.

My favorite appetizer was brie topped with what looked like chopped pecans and brown sugar, served with pita slices.

I started the buffet line at the turkey, where I nabbed a couple pieces of white meat.

Next in the line was stuffing and green bean casserole. Stuffing is one of my favorite parts of Thanksgiving, so I got a small scoop of stuffing and a small scoop of green bean casserole.

Mashed potatoes were next up. I skipped these, though, in favor for…

… baked sweet potatoes! I ate about half of one, took the marshmallows on top (and spread a little of it back on), and took out all the butter. There was kind of a lot.

My step-mom made a butternut squash and apple soup, which was to-die-for, so I served myself some in a little crystal teacup and ate about half.

This was the hardest part to resist: the buttery rolls on the end. But I did. I made up for it with a biscuit at my grandmother’s, though. πŸ™‚

For dessert, my step-mom made cinnamon panna cotta topped with cinnamon apples and caramel sauce, pumpkin pie, and home made whipped cream. I had half the cup of panna cotta and about an inch of a slice of pumpkin pie– just for the taste. πŸ˜€ I skipped the whipped cream, though. Homemade, Redi Whip, or Cool Whip– I hate it all.

I didn’t take many pictures of the food at my grandmother’s house, since there’s only so much variation you can do of Thanksgiving food (not that I have a problem with that… I’ll eat turkey all day every day). The one thing I HAD to take a picture of, however, is my uncle’s chocolate flan. He got the recipe from Food Network, and I ended up having more than one taste of this one. Remember how I said I cheated when it was worth it?

I now present the dictionary definition of “worth it.”

We ended up staying at my grandmothers ’til 11:00! We had too much fun catching up, hanging out, and eating great food.

Oh yeah, and playing with the Instagram app on my mom’s iPhone.

And that’s about it! It was nice to see everyone. I hadn’t seen a lot of them since Christmas last year, and everyone else in about 6 months. It’d been that long since I had been home! So this Thanksgiving was extra special.

And here’s what I’m thankful for:

  1. My family– everything they are and everything they’re not
  2. My health– I rarely get sick, and my health never keeps me from doing the things I love
  3. My body– it’s not perfect, and it never will be, but it’s capable of running, swimming, dancing, and looking pretty nice in a slim-fitting dress. And I like that.
  4. My friends– I’m not always the easiest person to be friends with (oh hey, moods), but my friends love me for who I am, creepiness, quirks, moods and all.
  5. My dog– I’ve heard from more than one person that they wish they had a dog like Dakota. She loves to cuddle with EVERYONE, has never growled at a person (save that homeless person that one time), and is extremely low-maintenance. She’s like the dog for people who don’t have time for dogs.

What was your favorite part of Thanksgiving?

And more importantly, what are you thankful for?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2010 1:28 pm

    1.) You look hot!
    2.) I only eat certain things (high calorie, high fat, etc) when they are “worth it” as well. I have gone through too many years of either avoiding everything and staring longingly, eating everything in sight, OR eating something because I felt pressure to do so. None of the pies were appetizing to me last night, so I ended up having some of the butternut squash mash I made/cranberry-orange-apple relish in a bowl with reddi-whip on top…it sounds SO boring but it was so very good and EXACTLY what I wanted. Now, if that flan had been present….i would have probably raped it of its creamy yummy top layer….haha. It looks incredible!
    3.) OOOOOHEMMMGEEEE. YOU DID NOT GO TO THAT HARRY POTTER LAND PLACE. The roomslice and would each give a left pinkie toe to visit. ahhhhhhhhh

    • December 8, 2010 6:48 pm

      Umm yes I did go… and it was amazing. I’ll post pictures soon! And thanks.:)
      And that chocolate flan was the most amazing thing I’ve ever tasted. So worth it.

Leave a Reply

