Skip to content

Mmmm… Desserty Oats!

November 16, 2010

If you’re going to indulge in your sweet tooth, might as well make it in the morning, right?

I made pumpkin dessert-y oats. Way sweet, but it hit the spot. Here’s how I made them:

In the oats:

  • 1/2 c rolled oats nuked for 2 minutes with 1 c water
  • 1/2 c vanilla pudding (made with skim milk)
  • 1/4 c pumpkin puree
  • capful vanilla
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

On top of the oats:

  • 1/4 c pumpkin granola
  • 3 mini gingersnap cookies, crumbled

Holy sugar shock. Alright, the oats weren’t THAT sweet. But they were delicious.

For lunch, I had the last bit of leftovers from the feast I’ll be posting soon, so no pictures of that at the moment.

But for dinner, I made something new: Curry Tempeh with Sweet Potatoes!

Instead of using coconut milk, like most curries call for, I used nonfat Greek yogurt and a little almond milk. I tend to stay away from coconut (despite how DELICIOUS it is!) because of how much saturated fat is in it– my family has a history of high cholesterol– but luckily coconut water doesn’t have any fat in it!

Here’s the recipe for the curry:

Curried Tempeh with Sweet Potato and Spinach

makes one serving

  • 1/3 block of Trader Joe’s 7 grain tempeh, sliced thin
  • 1/3 c nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/4 red pepper, sliced thin
  • 1/3 c frozen spinach, thawed
  • 1/2 sweet potato, diced
  • 1/2 shallot, chopped
  • 1 tsp Garlic Gold
  • 1 tsp curry powder

Sautee the tempeh, sweet potato, spinach,  red pepper, and shallot in the Garlic Gold. Add in the yogurt, almond milk, and curry powder.

That’s it! Workouts are a little less often this week, since I can’t really do too much at the gym with my glasses. Well, I probably could, but if I break these, I’m screwed until after I get Lasik.

But tomorrow morning, I’m going for a practice run with the specs! Let’s see how it goes.

And now, I’m going to leave you with a picture of what I wake up to every morning. Can you see her?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marge permalink
    November 17, 2010 11:53 am

    PLEASE tell me there will be croakies involved with the running in glasses experiment?

    • November 17, 2010 11:55 am

      We both know that I am entirely too vain to wear croakies under ANY circumstances.

Leave a Reply

