Skip to content

Must. Have. Water.

November 15, 2010
tags:

I ran a practice 5K on Sunday morning, wearing a pair of sunglasses to practice what it feels like wearing specs during a run. Endurance-wise, I did great. I never felt tired enough to slow down, and I kept a good pace.

Hydration-wise… not so great.

I have GOT to find a way to hydrate well while running outdoors. So here’s my question for you all:

How do you keep hydrated while not running on a treadmill?

Hiding water bottles along your trail? Holding a water bottle? Running with a Camelbak? Help is appreciated. 🙂

I don’t have to worry about it during the race, luckily, since they’ll have water stations. But future runs would probably be more enjoyable without the cottonmouth and post-run water chugging sessions.

After my run, and, well, a shower, I met my friend Will for lunch at Food + Lab. If you’re ever in West Hollywood, or are willing to make the trek for a delicious lunch, you should definitely go there.

I got a turkey and brie sandwich on wheat with a honey + fig + pear compote. It was out of this world, but between the size of the sandwich and the gigantic mug of pomegranate white tea (they served it in a cereal bowl!), I was only able to eat half.

So I had the other half for lunch today.

And then one of these…

I wanted to share my dinner, but it’s leftovers from the amazing feast I cooked last night, which I can’t show just yet!

My friend Chris, who is a really gifted photographer, came over and took some beautiful photos of the meal I put together. Seriously, I could have made a burnt casserole, and the photos would’ve made it look good.

But I didn’t make a casserole, and it wasn’t burnt. So keep an eye out for a post full of gorgeous photos and some great recipes!

Look for It Tomorrow

I miss pumpkin. So that’s going to happen. And then I’m going meatless with a new recipe! See you back soon. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 12:03 pm

    I use an ergonomic water bottle that has a strap that stays on my hand while I run and I don’t have to grasp it. I hate holding things while I run so it works well for me. This is the one I use: http://www.rei.com/product/782447

  2. November 16, 2010 4:48 pm

    I tend to not get too thirsty when on a 3-4 mile run and just chew Orbit gum to keep my saliva glands activated (gross I know!). However, if it is hot outside I bring a water bottle with a hand strap – but some times it bugs me so I try to go the gum route as often as possible. I would love to try a Cambelback.

    • November 16, 2010 10:27 pm

      I looked a few up, but they were all for cycling. I wonder if they’d be a pain to run with. I’m liking this handheld water bottle idea though!

Leave a Reply

