Skip to content

Fire Zee Laser… Into My Eyeball

November 13, 2010

Big announcement time! After wearing glasses for more than 18 years and contacts for more than 12… I’m getting LASIK!

I’m going for my consultation when I’m in Tampa for Thanksgiving, and then hopefully I’ll get scheduled for the real thing when I’m home a few weeks later at Christmas. I honestly can’t imagine what it’s like to wake up in the morning and just… see. I feel like I’m going to be terrified to open my eyes after. If I can see perfectly… I’m going to start bawling.

If you need an indication of how poor my vision is, I have to keep an emergency pair of glasses in the same place, in case I can’t find my real glasses first thing in the morning. That way I can feel my way to the emergency pair, put them on, and then look for my regular glasses. But since I’m able to see 20/20 with corrective lenses, the doctor said I’ll get a full correction. The thought is… nuts to me.

So starting Monday, I have to wear glasses for a week. Wearing contacts changes the shape of your eye a bit, so in order to get the right measurements, I have to let them go back to their normal shape.

Too bad this happened last night:

LUCKILY, I have that emergency pair of glasses. The prescription isn’t perfect– they’re 6 years old– but I can’t really tell the difference. And they’re lighter than my regular frames, which will help when I have to run a 5k in them.

Anywho, on to today. What a busy day! I woke up around 8 (funny how that’s considered sleeping in now), and went hiking with my friend Chris and his pitbull, Lucy. Pitbulls usually get a bad rap, but she has got to be one of the most lovable, well-behaved dogs I’ve ever seen. And she’s a great hiker– I certainly ate her dust!

Afterward, I rushed– still in my hiking clothes– to see an early movie with my friend Laura. I knew the night before that I wouldn’t have much time to eat in between hiking and the movie, so I made some overnight oats for this morning.

In today’s overnight oats:

  • 1/2 c rolled oats
  • 1/2 c nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 c skim milk
  • 1/2 c frozen berries
  • 1/2 chopped frozen banana
  • 1/2 tablespoon almond butter

We saw Morning Glory… what a good movie! Rachel McAdams was great– and very relatable– in it. Like her, sometimes I feel like work takes over my life. It seems that’s the norm in the entertainment industry, but at least I’m enjoying it!

And then we saw Luigi roaming around Universal City.

Afterwards, I headed home and made a quick lunch: a flatbread melt with low-fat cheese, turkey, and some sliced Granny Smith apples.

It was my first time making it, but it definitely has a place among my favorites now. So good! Just the right amount of tart from the apple mixed in with the savory turkey and cheese.

I ate the rest of the apple with it. Well most of it– Dakota had a few bites.

Afterward, I ran a few errands– like trying, and failing, to get my glasses repaired– and then came home with a surprise for Dakota and a surprise for myself.

A cute surprise for me (please notice Dakota jumping).

And a terrible surprise for Dakota.

I have to take her home with me over Thanksgiving break, so that means she’ll be chilling under an airplane seat for a cool 6 hours. She was NOT happy about this bag, as you can see, but she quickly adjusted. She figured out that if she laid down, she had way more room.

Then I got her to warm up to it by putting “treats” (aka little pieces of bread) in the back of the bag, so that she had to crawl in to get them.

Yes, she’s wearing a hoodie. It’s cold outside– and she has a shorter fur coat now.

For dinner, I made some seared bay and jumbo scallops, simmered them in white wine with half a shallot, and sauteed some spinach to go with it. Not pictured: the baked plantains I ate after.

And, well it’s Saturday night, so I’m off!

Tomorrow, provided I’m not suffering from the Irish flu, I have a practice 5K on the books. I have another planned for this week, but with glasses so I get used to wearing them for race day next Sunday.

Have a great Saturday!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 6:34 pm

    Hahahaha, love your dog’s face with it pressed up against the front of the bag!

    What a busy day!

  2. November 15, 2010 9:59 am

    OOOH! Lasik! Can’t wait to hear how it goes. I’ve worn glasses (or contacts) since 5th grade and I’ve thought about it before. Glad to hear you liked Morning Glory. I definitely want to treat myself by seeing it this week.

    • November 16, 2010 10:23 pm

      Yes! Definitely see it! And I’m the same way– I’ve worn glasses and/or contacts since I was 6… and I’m finally ready to get rid of them.

Leave a Reply

