Skip to content

MUCH Better.

November 9, 2010

I tried the run again the next morning to see if things got better. WHAT. A DIFFERENCE. I was able to run my usual weekday distance (2 miles) without any soreness, cramps, or more effort than I usually put in.

Shoes= broken in.

Body= not broken.

Yay!

The Workout

I was a little late heading to the gym, so I kept it quick.

  • 2 miles + warm up and cool down
  • one-legged presses: 2 sets of 15 reps on each leg with weight set to 15 lbs
  • assisted dips: 2 sets of 15 reps, lifting 45 lbs of my own weight
  • stability ball plank: 1 minute both legs, rest, 20 seconds both legs, 10 seconds each leg, back to both legs for another 20 seconds

The Eats

For breakfast, I had OATS. Surprise, surprise.

In the mix: rolled oats + 1/4 c fat free cottage cheese + capful vanilla extract + tsp cinnamon

The toppings: almond butter + blackberries + Trader Joe’s Organic Reduced Sugar Blackberry Preserves

And the coffee? Starbucks Via Vanilla. I’m almost out!

For lunch, I had a turkey melt with 2 tablespoons of light cheese, tomatoes, and spinach.

To make the turkey melt, I laid the flatbread on a skillet over medium heat, sprinkled the cheese on top, and as the cheese melted, I put the turkey and sauteed spinach and tomatoes on one side of the bread. When the cheese was fully melted, I folded the empty side over, and then flipped the whole thing to brown the other side, too.

For dessert I tried a fruit I’ve never tried before… a PERSIMMON!

I have to say, though, I don’t think I’m a fan. I didn’t hate it, persay, but it was a little too sweet and not juicy enough. It tasted a little like cantaloupe, which I’m not really big on. But… it wasn’t bad.

Look for It Tomorrow

I found a great article on how to keep healthy during cold season. So I’ll be sharing. And I got another successful run in!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 12:15 pm

    I just bought my first persimmons too! I’m also kinda on the fence about it…

  2. November 12, 2010 10:17 am

    High five on the better run! It always feels so nice when you have a ‘recovery’ run from one that didn’t go so well. 🙂

    • November 13, 2010 8:31 pm

      It definitely was a relief to run at a normal pace again!

Leave a Reply

