Skip to content

A Disastrous Run

November 8, 2010

So I woke up yesterday and went for a run, with the intention that it was going to be a good one. But it wasn’t at all.

It. Was. Terrible.

Within the first 1/4 mile, I got a debilitating cramp in my side. Not the kind where you can push through until it goes away. The kind of pain that consumes you and forces you to stop. So I ended up power-walking, then trying again, failing, then power-walking, and repeat. I managed about a mile and a half before I gave up, walked back, and then made myself a bowl of pity oats.

At least the shoes were cute.

For lunch, I went veggie and made a bowl of Trader Joe’s Harvest Grain Blend with some sauteed spinach and tomatoes.

Afterward, I gave a very furry puppy a much-needed haircut. Here are the pictures of her terrific makeover, courtesy of moi:

Before…

And after…

For dinner later on, I continued on with the meatless meals and went ORANGE.

Roasted sweet potato slices sprinkled with light cheese, sliced bell pepper, and yogurt dill and hummus dips.

Oh, and um… this happened…

A little too soon, maybe?

Probably.

But I’m such a sucker for Christmas that I decided to put up my tree a little early this year. I’ll be in Tampa for 2 weeks during the holidays, so there won’t be much time in between Thanksgiving and Christmas in L.A. to appreciate a tree. Thus, the early setup.

GO NOLES!

But of course she is…

Glug-glug-glug-glug

And dessert?

A microwave oaty cookie, topped with pumpkin butter.

Look for It Tomorrow

A MUCH better workout, some oatmeal (this time without the pity), and another use for the bell pepper 3-pack I bought.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 8:58 pm

    Very impressive cut on the pup! I can’t believe you did that yourself. So cute. Don’t worry about the run. It happens to everyone sometime.

    • November 9, 2010 3:17 pm

      Thanks! She looks so much better now that you can see her face!

  2. November 8, 2010 9:37 pm

    Side cramps are awful, and nice job with the dog haircut.

    • November 9, 2010 3:18 pm

      She looks half her size now that she has about a pound less fur. πŸ™‚ And I’ll have to agree about the cramps.

  3. November 9, 2010 3:07 pm

    Did you figure out what happened during your run?

    I love that you decorated for Christmas and now I really think I need to this weekend as well. πŸ™‚

    Your dog is tooooo cute!

    • November 9, 2010 3:19 pm

      Thanks! And I’m not sure why, but if I do a lot of ab work the day before, I get really, really bad cramps when I run the next day. Even if my abs don’t feel sore. Weird, I know.
      I’ve gotten so much crap from my friends for decorating early! But I LOVE Christmas, so I don’t care. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

