Skip to content

A Fried Brain

November 6, 2010

No, I didn’t eat a fried brain. My brain is fried. Or was fried after work yesterday, so there was zero to less-than-zero chance I was going to concentrate long enough to post anything. I was the first person in the office in the morning and the last person out (hiya, 11-hour workday on a Friday), so to say a headache was involved is a bit of an understatement.

Alright, enough with the complaining.

After work, we ended up seeing that movie Megamind– which I was going to wait to see until I took my little sister over Thanksgiving break, but oh well :)– and it was actually really cute and really funny. Will Ferrell, whose movies are love-it-or-hate-it for me, was really clever, and it definitely had enough asides for adults to appreciate. And the soundtrack being mostly AC/DC

But despite the intense day at work, the food was still good!

For breakfast, I had some rolled oats mixed with a mashed banana, vanilla extract, and pumpkin pie spice.

The topping was a little pumpkin granola and some vanilla-cinnamon pecan butter (yup… I still have it!).

For lunch, I was feeling some Mexican, so I made a chicken soft taco with sauteed tomatoes and spinach, some light cheese, and a spicy “sour cream” mixture made from nonfat Greek yogurt and hot sauce.

There ended up being way too much filling (I always seem to overestimate how much goes into a taco), so I ate a piece of chicken and a few tomatoes separately.

I didn’t think I was going to stay that late at work, so I didn’t pack dinner. Big mistake. I ended up eating cereal and granola from the snack shelf. Boo.

Quick side note: Thank you to the people over at Nasoya for the great goodie bag I received this week! A while back, Nasoya had an event close to where I live to announce the launch of their new site, Tofu U. I was pretty excited to go, but due to working ’til 8 that night (when the event ended), I wasn’t able to make it. BUT, being the awesome people that they are, the people from 360 Public Relations sent me the goodie bag they gave out!

I got a messenger bag, T-shirt, shorts, a Skinny Bitch cookbook, and some coupons for Nasoya products. What a great surprise at work!

To remain honest, I have to say that I don’t eat tofu– due to my family’s history of thyroid disease and the studies that have been done on unfermented soy’s affect on the thyroid– but the Skinny Bitch cookbook makes really good points about eating sustainably and has great recipes that can be altered to use other meat replacements or–gasp!– meat itself.

That’s all for today! I’m headed to a friend’s birthday BBQ (and I’m bringing squash to grill instead of bringing booze… who am I?) and then out on the town!

Can’t wait to do nothing but relax tomorrow. Very, very much needed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2010 5:39 pm

    I was at that event! Isn’t the swag bag awesome? I’m loven’ the skinny bitch cookbook.

    • November 8, 2010 8:47 pm

      So do I! I love the front section about sustainability and healthy eating just as much as the recipes. Still sad I couldn’t make the event, though. 😦

  2. November 6, 2010 8:41 pm

    The burrito looks fantastic. I do the same thing – overfill my burrito. But so many delicious toppings!!

    • November 8, 2010 8:51 pm

      Thanks! And I’ll probably make the same mistake with tomorrow’s wrap. But the upside is… it taste just as good with a fork. 🙂

Leave a Reply

