Skip to content

Tag, I’m It!

November 3, 2010

It feels good to get back in the healthier swing of things. Despite being able to walk off everything I ate in New York, I still prefer to eat a little lighter.

The Workout

I did a 45-minute yoga session in my living room with my yoga DVD. Nice stretch, good workout (yoga never makes me break a sweat, but I came close with this one!), and it left me feeling great.

The Eats

I mixed sweet and savory this morning. First, I nuked an egg with some spinach and Trader Joe’s Everyday Seasoning. Once it was done, I sprinkled a little light cheese on top. Mmmm melty cheese.

Since yoga was a little more of a workout than I anticipated, I had a sliced up banana with reduced sugar blackberry preserves and almond butter for some potassium. I haven’t gone to Whole Foods in a while… and I’m starting to miss my coconut water!

Lunch and dinner were pretty similar. I sometimes spend way too much time cooking during the week, so to cut down, I’ve been cooking two servings of the same recipe, and then finding one way to mix them up.

So for lunch I had  chicken, tomato sauce, spinach, and cheese in a lavash wrap.

The lavash was a little flaky. It almost didn’t stay together!

For dinner I shredded the other piece of chicken and served it with whole wheat rotini, tomato sauce, spinach, and cheese.

Tag! I’m it!

I was tagged by Amanda and Andy at Two Boos Who Eat, so here are the questions I’m supposed to answer:

1. Favorite flavor of ice cream?

Ben ‘n Jerry’s Half Baked Fro-Yo. I may/may not have downed a pint when I had a really bad cold. It was the only thing I could stomach all day! Weird, yes.

2. Do you say soda or pop? Or something completely different?

Soda! Something I never drink unless it’s accompanied by rum or vodka. 😀

3. If you could travel anywhere for a month, where would you go?

London, definitely. I’m currently saving up to take a solo trip there… but I can only afford to go for about a week.

4. Favorite thing about blogging?

I LOVE writing, and I love food, so being able to combine the two is a lot of fun. I wanted to be a food writer right when I graduated, but it’s not the easiest gig to get into. If you Google my name, though, you can see some of the stuff I did as a newspaper intern!

5. Do you prefer tricks or treats? Just kidding

Treats. Always treats. Preferably those containing candy corn.

6. Are emoticons annoying or fun?

What? 🙂 These get annoying? 😦 Are you serious? 😀

7. Would you rather spend your vacation relaxing by the beach or hiking through a rainforest?

I don’t know about the sweltering heat of a rainforests, but a regular forest would be pretty neat. Since we’re in California, I could hike through a forest, and then drive 30 minutes to an hour to a beach. WIN-WIN!

8. Have you ever been stung by a bee?

Yes! When I was two, and my whole hand swelled up. I’ve been lucky since then.

So here I go with my tags and questions:

  1. What made you decide to start getting healthy?
  2. What’s your idea of a food splurge? Shopping splurge?
  3. Someone gave you $1000. Spend it? Save it? Spend it for what/save it for what?
  4. What’s your favorite holiday? Why?
  5. What’s your favorite seasonal food? It can be from any season.
  6. Describe your perfect day off.

I’m tagging:

Look for It Tomorrow

I took a recipe from Kath Eats Real Food and played around with it, and hopefully Trainer Erika will give me a few good moves to share. Have a great Wednesday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 5:24 pm

    I have never really gotten into yoga, but I want to try a class sometime. I can’t ever relax because I am so not flexible haha.

    Also, thanks for the tag! I answered over at my blog :]

    • November 6, 2010 3:43 pm

      Yoga is so fun, Anastasia. I’d definitely recommend it. If you don’t feel comfortable taking a class just yet, I’d recommend a DVD or something off Exercise TV.

      And people in class are at all levels… I’m still nowhere near as good as a lot of the others!

Leave a Reply

