Skip to content

The Problem with New Running Shoes

November 2, 2010
tags:

I am OBSESSED with my new running shoes. I’ve been running with the same pair of Under Armour shoes for a while now. They work fine, but they aren’t the best in terms of support. They just kind of… exist. If that makes sense.

They look kind of like this. Also nothing special in the looks department.

Image Source

But this weekend, I got a new pair from Niketown. They’re just as light as the Under Armour pair, but they feel like they have way more support. They also hug my feet a lot more snugly.

The new kicks:

Image Source

HOWEVER, when I was running, I felt like it took a little more effort to run. Maybe it was because I was tired. Maybe not. My cardio level felt the same, but my muscles felt like they needed to push a little further. So here are my questions for those of you who have recently broken in a new pair of shoes:

  • Do you think the added support, keeping my foot in place better, is what’s causing my leg muscles to work more?
  • Is it normal for my ankles to feel a little more “worked” the next day? Not sore, persay, but more tired.
  • How long does it usually take for you to break in your new shoes?

It was my first time running in them, for about 2 miles, so I’m not super concerned at this point. But I’m kind of in love with my shoes, so I’m hoping it’s just a breaking-into-new-shoes thing.

Thoughts are welcome!

And I’ll leave this here: 101 Greatest Running Tips- Women’s Health

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 12:51 pm

    I recently got a new pair of running shoes and not only felt supported, but lighter and faster because the shoes felt so great on my feet.

    I have experienced pain on the back of my ankle from the shoe rubbing, but never ankle pain – that makes me wonder if there is enough support in your newer shoes.

    While I love my shoes, I had to get special inserts because I am pronating too much in them still.

    Niketown has a treadmill that they can put you on to gauge what is going on when you are striking down, or you can bring them to a specialized running store and they can help assess as well.

    • November 2, 2010 1:20 pm

      That’s a really good idea. I ran in them on the treadmill at Niketown, but only long enough to see how they felt in comparison to my older ones– no more than 30 seconds.
      My ankles today don’t hurt, persay, but they feel like they got more of a workout, if that makes sense.
      Thanks for the advice on the running store! I’m going to try the shoes out again, see how things go, and if it still feels like my ankles are working too much, I’m heading to one.

Leave a Reply

