Skip to content

New York on Foot, Much to Simon’s Chagrin

October 30, 2010

Oh, man. New York, in all its rush, its REAL fall weather, and its possibilities, is greater than I remembered. I thought L.A. was intimidating when I first moved there. But there’s really no comparison. It’s like a whole other world. There really are no words.

But my best way to explain it… is in food. 😀

This morning, my dad and I woke up (him fine, me jetlagged) and headed over to Junior’s for some breakfast.

Simon worked through breakfast.

While I made my way through about a third of the biggest bowl of oatmeal I’ve ever been served.

And then made my way through the biggest cup of coffee I’ve ever been served. I drank the entire thing.

After breakfast, we headed to Hoboken, NJ on the PATH train to visit Carlo’s Bake Shop, the bakery featured on the TLC show Cake Boss.

They had so many goodies, it was hard to pick!

I ended up picking two treats that I munched on between then and after lunch.

First, an anisette cookie. It was really good, but the anise in it wasn’t something I was used to. Neither was the lingering aftertaste.

My other treat was a plain cookie that was really crumbly and had a delicious hint of almond extract. I ate a couple bites after the bakery, and then I finished it off with lunch.

We took the train back to Midtown Manhattan and walked around for a bit more while my dad looked for a good watch store.

For lunch, we took a cab to SoHo (there was no convincing him to walk THAT far) to eat at Balthazar, and as we walked into the restaurant, my dad realizes that he left his wallet in the cab. After some frantic calls to his right-hand-lady at the office to cancel his cards and me calling my step-mom to have his passport overnighted– so he had ID to fly back– he gets a call from his office. The cab driver found his business cards in his wallet and called his office. He met my dad in front of the restaurant, and my dad made the man get out of the car so he could hug him. And then hand him $50. Luckily, it had all happened fast enough that he could even put a stop to canceling his cards.

So after the dramatics, we sat down for a nice lunch at Balthazar, and I had a small plate of pumpkin ravioli. To. Die. For.

Boo for bad picture-taking-lighting, though.

My dad, despite my efforts to get him to chill out after the wallet debacle, scarfed down his ham and gruyere sandwich in a few bites. And then stress-ate his way through some white chocolate ice cream. I had a taste of both, and they both were great– especially the ice cream. 🙂

Look at all that wine!

After lunch, we walked around SoHo for a bit, ended up in Little Italy, and then landed ourselves in Chinatown. Not on the to-do list. After passing store after store with boxes of dried seafood (really?) and raw seafood and (possibly) rotting seafood, we managed to find a cab and head back to 5th Avenue.

All in all, I think we walked a little over 6 miles throughout the day. My dad kept suggesting we get cabs– but what’s the fun in that? It was more fun to see the city from the sidewalk than from the backseat of a taxi. My dad, however, saw things differently when it was time to jump in  a cab for lunch:

Simon: I don’t think I’ve walked that much ever.

Me: But it’s free! And it’s great exercise! And… it’s free!

Simon: Look. It took the cab driver $4 to go 2 miles. Which I would gladly pay instead of walking that much again.

Too bad I made him walk even more after lunch. 😀

Around late afternoon, we stopped in a chocolate store and split 2 macarons– one pumpkin and one cinnamon– and a dark chocolate salted caramel (okay, I ate the whole caramel).

At the suggestion of my blogfriend, Caitlin, we went by Rockefeller Center, where the ice skating rink was already open. I’m terrified of things that require excessive coordination, so I abstained. But it was still fun to watch!

For dinner we headed to a restaurant in the Meatpacking District called Macellaria.

I had roasted duck with– what else?– pumpkin. The duck was great, and it went really well with the pumpkin. However, I was not a fan of the bones still being on the bird. Being a lady and having to use a fork and knife is a pain in the butt.

Simon got Mediterranean sea bass and some roasted potatoes (not pictured).

I actually got dessert, too, but I forgot to take a picture. It was apple strudel and cinnamon gelato. And I ate the whole damn thing. And it was glorious.

And before I crash for the evening, I’m just going to leave this here…

More New Yorkiness to come tomorrow!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 12:36 pm

    I’m so jealous! My heart is always in New York. Sounds like you’re doing it right!

    • November 1, 2010 4:13 pm

      I loved it there! I’m not sure I’d be able to handle living in NY, but I’d love to spend a lot more time there, for sure.

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend with the Pops: Over in a New York Minute « Pretty Fit, Pretty Healthy, Pretty Happy

Leave a Reply

