Skip to content

Flying High, Eating Light

October 29, 2010

I love traveling. Seeing new places, experiencing new things, coming home with a fresh perspective on things. I do NOT however, like airports. I always end up in a bad mood. My eyes dry out on planes, so I’m stuck wearing my glasses, which never work as well as contacts.

(Notice the hat… I have a phobia of putting my head on the backs of chairs in airplanes and movie theaters. Do YOU know where all those heads have been? Or how often they wash them? Exactly. Go get your hat or hoodie.)

On to airport food. Yes, there are the occasional healthy options, until you see that they charge you $10 for a turkey sandwich. On white bread. With no condiments.

So to keep it healthy– and to keep it cheap– I bring a goodie bag full of snacks. Protein bars, Larabars, fruit, Justin’s Almond Butter packets, and a piece of lavash bread.

I started off my pre-boarding wait with a bottle of water from Starbucks ($4.17!!!!), and asked them for an espresso cup. I made me a little cocktail of Emergen-C.

I would’ve rather it actually been espresso. Or liquor?

For a snack, I had a cookie dough Balance Bar. I don’t eat them too often anymore because of the extremely long and hard-to-pronounce list of ingredients, but I made an exception today. Plus, they taste like a candy bar– but with 12g of protein.

For dinner, I had an almond butter and banana wrap. I squeezed some Justin’s Almond Butter on to the lavash bread with the banana and rolled it up for a yummy and sweet dinner. The lavash ended up breaking into the four pieces I had folded it into, so I ended up eating 4 mini wraps instead of 1 big one. Still tasted great– and it was amusing to watch the lady next to me stare.

L-O-V-E these little almond butter packets! (They have them at Whole Foods and you can buy them online here.)

This wins the award for the crappiest picture ever. Camera in checked bag. Cameraphone not kosher on plane. Photo Booth was my only option. 

Told you. Crappiest. Picture. Ever.

I’ve still got quite a ways to go on this flight (about 2 hours or so), but no worries. I packed an apple. On my flight to the Big Apple.

Look for It Tomorrow

Food. Lots of food. Simon (my dad) made reservations at some seriously fancy places this weekend– so I’ll be the jerk taking pictures of all my food– as discreetly as possible, of course. 😀

Also… the guy next to me is watching an awesome kung fu movie, but I don’t know what’s going on. The captions are in… Mandarin?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 2:54 pm

    I pack lots of snacks and meals on flights, too! Almost always more than I could ever possibly need… for whatever reason. Have a great time in NYC!!! Tell it hi for me. 🙂

    • October 29, 2010 4:03 pm

      Thanks, Kaitlin! Let’s make good on those drinks when I get back!

Trackbacks

  1. Staying Up When the Temp Goes Down « Pretty Fit, Pretty Healthy, Pretty Happy

Leave a Reply

