Skip to content

Comfort Food That’ll Keep You Feeling Good

October 27, 2010

First, a big announcement:

I’M HEADING TO NEW YORK THIS WEEKEND!

(Yes, I made it navy blue in honor of the Yankees, who I’ll always be proud of– even when they embarrass me with their pitching.)

Some family stuff back home that was keeping my dad from being able to head out was solved, and now we’re for sure going– flights booked.

I’m really excited, and I’ll continue to blog while I’m there, sharing all the stuff my dad and I see and all the food I eat. After going at the same pace and feeling the way I’ve been feeling, a weekend out of town couldn’t have come sooner (no really, it couldn’t have– it’s 1 day away).

The Workout

So yesterday morning I stepped up my AM workout… and ran OUTSIDE. In the cold. I got up to a chilly apartment after being cuddled under layers of cozy covers, and had to blink and open my eyes wide and blink again for a few minutes before I could roll out of bed. But I did. And then I got ready and pushed myself out the door.

I only did about 2 miles today– I wasn’t about to go all out on my first time out– and then I came home and did some ab work in the living room. WAY harder than at the gym. Probably because I kept trying to lie down on the carpet in between sets.

The Eats

All my food today is what I consider comfort food. What I used to consider comfort food is, when you think about it, not really comfort food at all. A giant bowl of mashed potatoes. A burger. Meatloaf. I always ended up with a bloated stomach ache afterwards. Where’s the comfort in that?

The comfort food I eat now contains at least one ingredient that I love, is light, and leaves me feeling satisfied without feeling sickly-stuffed.

Bread is my biggest comfort food. Most carbs are, really. So for breakfast I had a sandwich thin, spread with almond butter (another favorite!), and a sliced banana for a post-workout potassium boost. Theodora at Losing Weight in the City eats them all the time, and I can see why. It’s easy. It tastes delicious. It hit the spot.

So did the Starbucks Via Vanilla.

For lunch, I ate some chicken and vegetable soup that I made in the slow cooker overnight. I basically made a broth and then threw in every leftover piece of produce I had in my fridge.

I served it with two pieces of the rustic bread I got at the farmers’ market over the weekend.

It was really easy to make, and it was a good way to get rid of produce before it goes bad. Here’s what went in mine:

Seasoning: 1/4 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp TJ’s everyday seasoning, 1 tsp fresh thyme

Broth: 5 c water, 5 tsp chicken bouillon, 1/2 c tomato sauce

Fillings: 1 zucchini, 3/4 c chopped heirloom tomatoes, 1 1/2 carrots, 2 celery stalks, 1/2 shallot, 1/2 c lentils, 1 chopped chicken breast, 1 spicy chicken Italian sausage (removed from casing)

For dinner, I used some of the soup fillings as a topping for grits. If any of you are from the South, or just have an appreciation for food, you know how delicious grits are. The only thing that could’ve made this better is if I’d put a little hot sauce with it. 😀

So here’s hoping you get a sense of what comfort food CAN be: satisfying without making you feel bad later on.

Another upside to cooking your comfort food is that you can make a healthy version of almost anything. Bread and oven bake chicken instead of frying it. Low fat macaroni and cheese. Mashed potatoes made with nonfat Greek yogurt. Alright, I’m starting to make myself hungry again.

What are some of your favorite comfort foods– healthy or not? Do you have a recipe that you made healthier?

Look for It Tomorrow

I’ll be introducing my room mate and friend, Joanna, along with two of her delicious muffin recipes. Check back!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 10:30 am

    I use to love comfort food that made me feel awful as well and I decided to focus on the taste and higher quality ingredients. Chocolate is my must have, so I simply go for a square or two of 80 percent cacao and feel fine and satisfied. 🙂

    • October 28, 2010 1:10 pm

      I LOVE a few bites of dark chocolate. I tried 100%, but it was wayyy too bitter for me. 80% is just right. 🙂

Leave a Reply

