Skip to content

On Cheering Up

October 26, 2010

If you’re going through hell, keep going.

-Winston Churchill
Yesterday, I talked about how I haven’t been feeling 100%, so I thought today I’d share how I take steps to get back to where I was, or to at least truck along until I get through this murky shade of blue.
  1. Take it a day at a time. I need a vacation. So instead of thinking about how much time I have left until I get even a semblance of one, I’m going to figure out how the rest of my Tuesday is going. And tomorrow? I’ll deal with that when it comes.
  2. Don’t eat your feelings. If you’re having a crappy day, don’t make it worse Β by ruining all the work you put in before you started feeling not so great. If you’re feeling down, not fitting into your jeans is only going to make you feel worse.
  3. Get pretty. When blow drying your hair or putting on makeup is the last thing you feel like doing, that’s when it’s most important to do it. Do yourself up, take extra time getting ready, and put on your favorite outfit. Will it turn your mood around? Probably not. But will it help? Well, it certainly won’t hurt.
  4. Force yourself to stay active. Even if it’s just a half hour of a yoga DVD, do it. It’ll make you feel better, even if for only a few hours. Work out outdoors if you can. Fresh air helps even more. From my (very) recent experience, I can promise you that endorphins > chocolate.
  5. Do things that are fun to you. Don’t feel like cleaning the house? Feel like taking a stroll outside or at the mall instead? Go. Go now. Your house will be there when you get back. If you need to be around others, surround yourself with the people who make you happy. If you’re the solo type, chill out alone. Just do what makes you happy.
  6. Put on some tunes to work with your mood. I hate listening to super-happy music when I’m blue. I like Radiohead. It’s good music that’s mellow without being more depressing. It helps me to listen to something that’s slightly brighter than the mood I’m in– if it’s way too peppy, it feels like I’m forcing it.
  7. Don’t let it affect your job. Even if your job’s the reason you aren’t feeling great, you most likely need the paycheck. Until you feel better or have a better gig lined up, don’t slack on the job. Leave your problems at your office front door, and fake it if you have to. When you’re feeling better, you’ll be glad you don’t have to make up for lost productivity.

Me getting over the blues, in photo form:

Breakfast with friends (and the best oatmeal I’ve ever had) at Cafe Was.

Beautiful views with good company.

And a few spoils, mostly found on sale.

Some fall essentials…

… and some non-essentials.

Am I feeling better yet? Not completely.

But I’ll get there. One run, one yummy meal, and one day at a time.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 2:33 pm

    This sounds so much like me…..I get in very very emotional funks; very prone to high highs and LOW lows. Thank you for these tips!!! I find it hard to take my own advice, so how convenient that you have STELLAR advice for me to take instead πŸ˜‰ xoxoxoxo
    One moment at a time. One day is just a blip in time when you look at an entire lifetime. Feel what you need to feel, and then set yourself up for a better day, week, month tomorrow πŸ™‚

    • October 26, 2010 2:43 pm

      Thanks, Katie! I think some people concentrate too much on forcing themselves out of bad moods, when in reality sometimes you just need to ride it out. Dealing with how I feel rather than just sweeping it under the rug seems to help, so I’m glad you found it helpful, too!

  2. October 26, 2010 3:53 pm

    Great post! It’s very helpful. πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing!

    • October 26, 2010 3:59 pm

      You’re welcome! And I sent your post to my sister, we both LOVE all things Disney. πŸ™‚

  3. October 28, 2010 10:22 am

    Great list!

    I am glad that you got to do some you focused things! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

