Skip to content

All Sandwiches, All Day

October 20, 2010

I don’t like getting too opinionated on this blog– socially or politically– but before I start off today’s post, I wanted to take a moment and turn your attention to the amazing project known as It Gets Better. Today, as a gesture of hope and support to gay youth everywhere, people are wearing purple, but I urge you to do more. Show your support every day. Help fight against the discrimination and hurt that is shown towards gay youth every day. Let them know… it gets better.

No matter where your political opinions lie, there is never a reason to show hatred toward another person for who they love.

Visit the It Gets Better Project to learn more.

The Eats

I just now realized everything I’m eating today is in sandwich form.

Breakfast. Lunch. Dinner. All sandwiches.

For breakfast, I made a very similar version to Caitlin’s (aka Healthy Tipping Point) Autumn Grilled Banana Sandwich.

Here’s how I changed it up:

I mixed egg whites, skim milk, and vanilla together and soaked each half of a sandwich thin:

I cooked both halves of the sandwich thin in a skillet, just as you’d cook French toast, sprinkling pumpkin pie spice on top just before cooking. No sugar.

After the bread was done, I sliced up a banana, sprinkled pumpkin pie spice on them, and browned them in the same skillet.

In a small bowl, I mixed a 1/4 cup each of pumpkin puree and Greek yogurt and added pumpkin pie spice and about a teaspoon of honey.

When the bananas were done cooking, I placed the bananas and a big ole’ glob of the pumpkin yogurt mixture in between the two slices of French toast. And… then I took a bite before photographing– an immediate taste test was necessary. 🙂

Note to self for next time: Do not try to eat this like a sandwich– you will end up with it all over your fingers. Use a fork like a lady.

Since I did kind of change a lot, here’s my version of her recipe. But you should still take a look at the original recipe by Caitlin.

Pumpkin-Banana French Toast Sandwich

makes one serving

  • 1 Arnold/Orowheat Sandwich Thin
  • 1/4 c egg whites (2 eggs’ worth)
  • 1/2 c skim milk
  • capful vanilla extract
  • 1 banana
  • 1/4 c pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 c nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp honey
  • pumpkin pie spice
  1. Mix together the milk, vanilla, and egg whites and pour into a plate. Soak both halves of the sandwich thin.
  2. Cook the sandwich thins in a skillet as you would French toast, sprinkling pumpkin pie spice on both sides. Remove from skillet when done.
  3. Cut the banana in half widthwise and then each half into 3 lengthwise slices. Sprinkle with pumpkin pie spice and brown them in the skillet over medium heat.
  4. In a small bowl, mix the pumpkin puree, Greek yogurt, pumpkin pie spice, and honey.
  5. To serve, place the bananas and pumpkin-yogurt mixture in between the French-toasted sandwich thins.
  6. Use a fork. Trust me.

Lunch was a repeat from earlier in the week. I promised my friend Chris that, provided the chicken Italian sausage wrap came out well the first time I made it, I’d bring it to share. So we shared.

It was a nice change of scenery to get to eat lunch around someone, rather than having to eat at my desk. I’ve been a little blue lately, so the company was welcome.

A repeat picture, as I was too ravenous to take a picture with my lunch buddy today:

Unrelated side note… do you have a fruit bowl in your house?

I love mine– it’s like an ever-changing decoration that gives you easy access to a healthy snack.

When we were little, my mom used to have a basket of snacks in the kitchen full of Oreos, Fruit Roll-Ups, and lots of other individually-packaged goodies. So as an effort to make living healthily as easy as possible I took a cue from her and made a ready-to-grab bowl… with fruit!

Here’s the fruit bowl my room mate and I share. Can’t wait to dig into the pomegranate. 🙂

Tonight I’m meeting with Trainer Erika, so it’ll be the traditional almond-butter and preserves sandwich for dinner.

Last week’s workout was heavy on the abs, and it’s a good thing I ate that light dinner– I almost had to take a break to go throw up from the intense workout. Gross, I know. But I love her challenging workouts; they’re a constant reminder that, no matter how long I stay active, I can always reach new goals.

Look for It Tomorrow

I’ll be eating lunch out (What?! On a weekday?! I know…), so you’ll get to see how I peruse a menu and pick something that’s healthy and doesn’t come in salad form. For dinner, I’m thinking something curry. Maybe something involving tempeh. Only time (and my stove) will tell.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

