Skip to content

Beer = Whole Grain… How’s that for Rationalization?

October 19, 2010

I found the best article this morning.

“The Health Benefits of Beer” – Best Health Magazine

It says beer isn’t as bad for you as everyone says it is. In fact, it’s made with barley, hops, and other grains, and so it contains zinc. You guys… zinc helps colds. DRINK BEER TO GET OVER COLDS!

Okay– I’m probably taking it too far.

However, it does say that choosing beer over other alcoholic beverages is a smart choice when trying to lose weight. And while most alcoholic beverages are nutritionally void (no, putting a splash of OJ in your vodka doesn’t boost your immune systerm), beer has niacin, fiber, and potassium (less than a quarter of what’s in a banana, but still).

And who doesn’t like a good pumpkin beer?

The Workout

I got up this morning and was a little bleary-eyed (I need to get to bed earlier!), but I shook it off and went to the gym for a morning swim. I came up with really, really good excuses why I didn’t need to work out right up until I walked into the gym. As mentioned in yesterday’s post about having one word to get you through tough times, mine this morning was “shutupshutupshutupshutup.” And it worked just enough to get me goggled-up and gliding through the water.

The Eats

I hadn’t eaten pumpkin in a whopping 24 hours, so I got my fix this morning with pumpkin-banana overnight oats topped with a smidge of blackberry preserves. I ate it straight from the jar I made it in. 🙂

… a little Starbucks Via Vanilla…

… and some pumpkin granola to top off the pumpkiny overnight oats.

Pumpkin-Banana Overnight Oats

makes one serving

  • 1/4 c pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 frozen banana, sliced
  • 1/2 c rolled oats
  • 1/2 c skim milk or milk alternative
  • 1/2 c nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • capful vanilla extract

Put all ingredients together in a jar or sealable container. Put the lid on and shake it! Then let it sit in the fridge overnight. The bananas, because they defrost overnight, will be like mush in the oats and sweeten it perfectly.

Top it with some fruit preserves and/or some nut butter, granola, a piece of your favorite muffin, or some cereal.

For lunch I tried a new leafy green– endives! I made some chicken teriyaki stir-fry with brown rice and veggies, and served it in endive leaves.

The fillings…

The first round, all filled up and ready to eat!

I probably should have brought more than one head of endives, because I only was able to do one more round of endive cups before I was left with this little stub…

Hope you’re enjoying the fall weather, wherever you are! :mrgreen:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 7:38 pm

    Pumpkin beer, now that sounds interesting, I will have to look for that next time I am at the liquor store! I have had pumpkin wine…
    Your breakfast looks yummy :)! I have got to try this pumpkin for breakfast thing…I have to eat it at least once a day in the fall to satisfy my craving :)!

    • October 19, 2010 8:01 pm

      Pumpkin wine?! No way! Wherever did you find something so amazing?

      • October 20, 2010 3:57 am

        Winehaven Winery in Minnesota. But it was pumpkin spice wine…which was a little odd. Their other wines such as strawberry rhubarb and raspberry are really good though!

  2. Samuel permalink
    October 20, 2010 10:52 pm

    Dear Brittany,

    I couldn’t help but notice your pumpkin oats breakfast didn’t contain oats. What’s up with that?

    Sam

    • October 20, 2010 11:43 pm

      Oh no! There was supposed to be 1/2 cup of rolled oats in there.

      Thanks for catching that, Sam! Consider it fixed.

Leave a Reply

