Skip to content

C’mon Get Happy! (And Eat Italian)

October 18, 2010

I talk a lot about “fit” and “healthy,” but I noticed I haven’t really touched too much on the “happy.” The funny thing is, “happy” is highest on my priority list. For instance, if I’m feeling crappy, and I know exercising isn’t going to help, but a trip to get frozen yogurt with a friend will… the gym takes a back burner. If I’m feeling under the weather, and the only feel-better food I feel like eating is a big bowl of mashed potatoes, I’m not going to be eating a salad.

I started reading this magazine called Whole Living (used to be called Body + Soul), and I really enjoy it. There’s a list in this month’s issue, entitled “10 Thoughts on Whole Living,” that stuck out to me, so I thought I’d share. My favorites are in bold.

  1. If you can successfully change one bad habit, you’re likely to change another.
  2. Don’t assume you know what someone needs you to do. Ask.
  3. Sometimes all it takes to get through a tough time is a single, powerful word.
  4. Be courageous enough to listen for the truth.
  5. When you shine a light on a negative thought, it loses its power.
  6. While you can’t shut out illness entirely, you can make your body a place where health thrives.
  7. Do something that makes you sweat.
  8. Embrace frayed edges, worn pages, and laugh lines. True beauty lies in imperfection.
  9. Remind a loved one that she’s not alone.
  10. Learning to love requires as much openness as it does strength.

Great, right?

This month’s issue also had a nice article on the practice of wabi sabi, or appreciating the imperfection that comes with life and with age. If you’ve never read this magazine before, I highly recommend picking up a copy.

The Workout

Per usual with Sundays (though I always go to bed with a packed AM workout bag), I couldn’t get to sleep, so the AM workout was non-existent. Instead, I repacked a smaller bag with a change of gym clothes, and I’m heading there after work! I’ll be on a treadmill, glued to the TV screen as I watch the Yankees play the Rangers.

I can’t really say much now, because I don’t want to jinx it, but there’s a whole other reason why I need them to pull 3 more wins to take the series. Here’s hoping I get to tell you!

The Eats

Last night, I went to Tender Greens before I headed to a comedy show. I’d never been there before, even though it’s walking distance from my apartment. Well, I’m pretty sure I found my new favorite neighborhood food stop.

I had some salt-and-pepper chicken that came with Yukon mashed potatoes and a sherry vinaigrette green salad. I managed to eat most of the salad and half the chicken and mashed potatoes, so I have a delicious dinner of leftovers for tonight.

My dining companion had a chipotle BBQ chicken sandwich with an arugula + tomato salad. I think the sandwich had a bit of ranch in it, too. I got to take a bite… and I was briefly in heaven. ๐Ÿ˜€

Ever the optimist, I made and packed my breakfast last night, so I could head to the gym in the morning. Since that ended up not happening, I ate it at home.

Kamut + pumpkin + no-sugar-added applesauce + pumpkin pie spice + vanilla ext. +maple ext + cottage cheese = perfection.

I’ve been trying to up my water intake, so instead of drinking coffee with breakfast, I’ve been drinking a glass of water and toting my coffee to work.

And the coffee today was Starbucks Via Vanilla. For instant coffee, or for any coffee really, it’s pretty tasty.

It’s a little sweeter than I usually drink my coffee (I drink it almost bitter), but it’s also just mild enough that I don’t need any milk. But caffeine-wise, those little packets pack a hell of a punch.

Hi ho, hi ho… it’s off to work I go!

And now on to the main event… ITALIAN SAUSAGE WRAP!

I was so into the Italian sausage + peppers sliders we had at the food truck festival, that I decided to get some stuff to make a healthier version for today’s lunch. Well, mission accomplished.

Trader Joe’s makes an Italian Chicken Sausage (half the calories and a fraction of the fat of the pork version!), and I used whole wheat lavash as a wrap instead of using a roll.

I sliced the chicken sausage in half lengthwise and browned it in a skillet with a teaspoon of Garlic Gold. It was my first time cooking raw sausage, so I didn’t know how much oil was in it naturally.ย The Garlic Gold (olive oil infused with garlic) wasn’t really needed.

The finished product, topped with tomato sauce:

Italian Sausage Wrap

makes one serving

  • 1 chicken sausage link (preferably Italian chicken sausage– it’s seasoned better)
  • handful of spinach
  • 2 small sweet peppers (or 1/4 each of regular sized peppers), seeds removed
  • 1/2 shallot, chopped
  • pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 slice of whole wheat lavash (whole wheat tortilla or wrap also works, but keep the calorie count under 150)
  • 1/4 c low-fat tomato sauce of your choice

Slice the chicken sausage length wise, so that the sausage is able to be split open but isn’t completely separated. Brown the sausage in a skillet over medium heat. Once cooked, remove the sausage and place on a paper towel to soak up excess oil.

Sautee the peppers, shallot, and spinach in the skillet with the oil left over from the sausage. Serve in the lavash/wrap and top with the tomato sauce.

That’s it for today! Here’s hoping the Yankees pull another W!!!

Look for It Tomorrow

I think it’s time for a return to the Overnight Oats. I also think it’s time for another stab at Indian food.

I think you’ll like both. ๐Ÿ˜€

Have a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

